We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8888 Gulf Freeway, From N Exit 36 From S Exit 38, Houston, TX 77017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #198 of 468 Hotels in Houston
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. The Hotel is very close to Hobby airport and I randomly picked it because it was cheap. I paid $45.00 per night and enjoyed a clean and quiet room in the backside of the hotel. The hotel didn't have shuttle but the Taxi cost me only $7.00 from the Hobby airport. Free wifi and breakfast was what I expected from a budget hotel. Nothing fancy but I would recommend it for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the backside of the hotel as the front is a bit noisy because of Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
7
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had a very bad experience with this motel.OMG, they charged $80 for single bedroom for 1 night which was very expensive for that motel in houston. Internet speed is slow and there are lot of disturbances. Breakfast is also not good when compared to other motels.I wont recommend this to anyone.............

Room Tip: select rooms at backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45
For your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that you feel your experience was a bad one.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was notified of the slow internet speed and the disturbances which you encountered and it was discussed what could be done to improve this.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, CO.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. Requested a room at the back due to highway noise on I-45. Room was clean and well maintained. Wireless internet could be glacial at times, and signal strength at the ends of the building is poor. Pool is tiny, but clean. Definitely no-frills, but good for a business stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgnia Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Very cheap and right by the airport. The entire hotel smells like mothballs. Clean enough just for sleep before an early morning flight. Can't imagine my wife staying there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45 for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the location was a good one for you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Your mention of the smell of mothballs was discussed with the management and it is being looked into to see if it can be eliminated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We picked this motel because of it's location and price. We got what we were looking for - cheap. Half of this motel is closed because of hurricane damage. The rooms are very noisy because of the freeway. The beds are comfortable, but the place is not very clean and the area is not somewhere you want to be out at night. The people working the desk were friendly. There are other options in the area that would be a better choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45 for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the location and the price were good for you. I’m glad that you found the desk staff to be friendly. I would have expected nothing less, but it is always nice to hear.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Desk staff received our commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was approached about the possibility of setting up a security system that would make our valued guests feel more secure about going outside at night.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Houston/Hobby Airport/I-45. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

I booked my hotel room over the internet and didn't really know what to expect. The room was very clean and staff was friendly. Couldn't find a better place with the price that I paid. One suggestion! ask for a room on the backside of the hotel since the front is closer to the freeway noise.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Address: 8888 Gulf Freeway, From N Exit 36 From S Exit 38, Houston, TX 77017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#140 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, in-room Wi-Fi, free coffee in lobby, and free continental breakfast. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, balcony, hairdryer, cable TV, ESPN, alarm clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houston
Super Eight Houston
Houston Super 8
Houston Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.