We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in historic downtown Houston.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #15 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Lake Jackson
1 review
“Beautiful hotel in historic downtown Houston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Magnolia Hotel is located in historic downtown Houston. They offer free shuttle service to downtown locations (restaurants, theatre, etc) but shuttle service ends at 11 pm. It is located about 6 blocks from the theatre district and an equal distance from Minute Maid Park and the George R. Brown Convention Center. There are many great restaurants also within walking distance and the Museum District is a short ride away on the MetroRail. There is a rail station a block from the hotel. We walked back from the theatre after 11 pm and felt perfectly safe doing so. There were a lot of people out and about, enjoying the different restaurants and bars. Houston is doing a good job of revitalizing their downtown area.

Our room was one with a king-sized bed which was comfortable but a little on the firm side. The room was beautifully appointed and had a fully stocked minibar, free internet service, and a wonderful oversized tub. Heavy velvet drapes blocked the light from outside. We missed the free milk and cookies buffet because we were already out for the evening but the morning breakfast included hot scrambled eggs, hash browns and bacon as well as bakery items. One unique aspect is that the outdoor pool and hot tub are located on the top of the building. The 23rd floor view is outstanding both at night and during the day. On Fridays, when the Astros are home and it's not raining, you would be able to see the fireworks they always have after the game.

This was our first visit to Magnolia Hotel and we only spent one night there. We look forward to spend the weekend sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    557
    145
    54
    40
See reviews for
296
805
171
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed here with 2 teenagers for 2 nights, and was upgraded to a King Suite (I'm a Magnolia Rewards member, and they sent me a complimentary upgrade for my birthday...how nice!). VERY large room with mini-kitchen (even pots & pans, if you need 'em), a huge walk-in closet, full-size pull-out couch, very large tub, and very comfy King bed. Room was chic and contemporary, although the bedding was kinda ugly (not important, as the rest of the room was very nice). The bath products they sat out smelled heavenly. I'm a bit of a hotel snob, and I thought the hotel and room were very nice...loved it.

Only complaint was not actually the hotel's fault...the elevators were extremely slow (usually had to wait at least 5 minutes for one every time), but as the hotel was sold-out for a girls' volleyball tournament, this is understandable. Also noteworthy was the fact that soundproofing in the rooms was quite good...again, as there were A LOT of teenage girls in the hotel, my husband and I couldn't hear them when we were in our room.

Another nice thing...this hotel was within convenient walking distance to many nice restaurants.

Looking forward to staying again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our room rate was 129 but after it was all said and done it was 181.50 so be prepared to pay more with all the taxes and parking fee. Rooms were nice & clean and convenient to local pubs and fun eating places. Oh and don't be in a hurry to go anywhere because the elevators take FOREVER!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Good location within walking distance of a lot of good attractions in downtown Houston. We didn't like the pillows - you had a choice of a mushy flat one or one that was solid and seemed to prop you head at a 90 degree angle. Inside of the hotel is very nice and remodeled with a number of nice amenities. All in all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Wish we could have stayed longer. Enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The staff's consistent friendliness and graciousness whether it was the front desk or valet, made it clear that customer service is taken very seriously at this hotel. The location is great, the rooms are nice and the comfy beds and black-out curtains ensured a perfect night's sleep but it was the staff's simple pleasantness, which sadly can not be taken for granted at even the "best" hotels, that sets this place apart.

Many probably would love the 2-free drink happy hour, but what makes that even better is that its followed by a milk and cookie buffet bar from 8-10! I stayed at this hotel only as a result of the Four Seasons being booked but will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Very friendly service and had a lot of amenities for a very good price. And very convenient to great restaurants and the Convention Center.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.