We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown Houston experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #18 of 451 Hotels in Houston
east texas
2 reviews
“Great downtown Houston experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband, son and I absolutely loved the Magnolia. I was there for a convention for work and it was significantly less expensive than most of the other downtown hotels, so we thought we would give it a try. They offered free downtown shuttle service (in a black Suburban, a little nicer than the other shuttle vans), free soft drinks and beer and wine at Happy Hour, free breakfast buffet (with bacon, eggs, hash browns, along with other standard breakfast buffet fare), and free cookies and milk in the evening. The rooms were nice, the pool/hot tub on the rooftop offered a great view of downtown as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    534
    136
    53
    40
See reviews for
283
774
167
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I booked this particular hotel to have an intimate gathering for my 26th birthday. Ran into a bit of complications (giving my room away and not informing me when I called before). But the staff was more than accomidating in putting me in a different room. Room still provided the feel I was going for. We had a blast and the bed felt GREAT!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed in three times last year and found the rooms clean and hotel well run. The last stay March 2010 was a disappointment, the bed was well past retirement, soft and actually sagged in the middle, the floor hadn't been vacuumed (there was half a pill under the ottoman) food hand prints on the TV cabinet, food stuck to the in room menu....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Great hotel, friendly and effiecient staff, Magnolia club excellent for breakfast and evening wind down, rooms clean and comfortable

Only problem that I had was accessing the internet; Hotel staff were unable to help with this. Some of my colleagues had the same problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

great service, clean rooms, lovely hotel. i really enjoyed the evening cookie reception. hotel is in great location and offer transportation within good portion of the city. would definitely stay again and recommend anyone staying in the dowtown area to visit this property. Only downside is having to pay for parking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston,tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Excellant hotel, I would definitely consider stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Me, my 15 year old (and friend), along with my husband stayed here for the Rodeo Run. We've stayed there before so knew it would nice. And we were not disappointed. The first time we stayed, we didn't get to do the evening reception or the cookie bar, but on this trip we did and it just made the trip even better. We love to try new hotels, but it's hard to pass the Magnolia up!!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#9 Business Hotel in Houston
#29 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;