We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnolia: classy and very reasonably priced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #18 of 455 Hotels in Houston
New York City
2 reviews
“Magnolia: classy and very reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I stayed at the Magnolia for two nights in Houston for a business meeting. The hotel was very attractive and the price was great. Rooms were large and comfortably appointed. I would definitely return. I forgot toothpaste, and I was ever so slightly disappointed that I had to return to the front desk to pick up a free tube; however, given the price we paid, I happily accept this compromise in the level of service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    551
    142
    54
    40
See reviews for
292
790
170
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better weekend in Houston and this hotel really helped. Great location to many things and we loved the car service to local stops too far to walk. ALL employees were helpful and considerate...the decor is phenomenal and artwork is fantastic. Many of which I would love to have in my personal collection! Breakfast in am was generous and tasty...excellent coffee! Sorry they did not have a "gift shop" for small amenities, but there was a shop not too far from hotel to get anything you might have forgotten. All in all, it was a great experience!!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Check in was simple. Accommodations were pleasant. Staff was courteous and perks (buffet breakfast) very nice. I appreciated the art and interior design. Much to look at and enjoy.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I went for a convention. this hotel has NO shuttle to or from the convention or airport. be prepaired to pay $56.00 EACH WAY to get to the airport. I had to walk to the convention ctr. everyday. we were told by the bar tender that to get any food it would be 1.5 hr wait to even take our order. apparently they were too busy to even take our order. The 1st night we ordered room service. 1 hamburger, 1 club sandwich. $47.00 that was including a 21% gratuity and tax they added plus a room service charge. the room was nice and the bathroom was also nice with a large soaking tub. but the overall experience left me feeling raped.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My DH and I recently stayed in one of their suites for a Saturday night downtown. The lobby was cozy and the front desk efficient. The complimentary happy hour was a nice touch to start off our evening. We also took advantage of their shuttle service to get to a Rockets game - again great service and very nice driver. Their breakfast the next morning was hot and a perfect top off to our stay. We will definitely come here again and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We had a delightful stay at the Magnolia and would hope to return soon. It is so fun to stay in downtown Houston and enjoy the restaurants, clubs and theatres. Additionally when you are in a hotel that takes care of your every need you have put the icing on the cake for a great weekend get away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Worth the money I paid, but since I got in on a special I'm not sure I would be willing to pay the full rate.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.