We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #17 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the hotel! Hotel and guest room were very clean and well appointed. Everyone was super nice, especially the valet service. Rooftop view of Houston was beautiful. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor in order to have a view of Houston. It was a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    584
    151
    54
    42
See reviews for
310
831
173
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Magnolia is a downtown hotel and, I imagine, mostly used by business travelers, but it's a good hotel for families, too. Our room was comfortable, clean, and large, and the construction going on across the way was, for us, an asset as the kids enjoyed watching it. Breakfast was ordinary but free and ample. The rooftop pool was a huge hit and provides great views of the city. The staff was helpful and friendly.

We were in town for a performance at the House of Blues which is an easy, pleasant four or five block walk, though shuttle service from the hotel is available.

I wish the parking charge wasn't so high, but it isn't out of line for other hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: Ask whether your room faces the construction site. If early morning noise is a problem for you, see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear vac_12,

We're so happy you and your family had such a great experience during your stay! We're glad you all enjoyed the breakfast and rooftop pool. Keep us in mind for the next one.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference. I must say, that check in was a bit difficult, but beyond that, everything is great! Excellent hot breakfast included, and yummy bedtime cookies & milk each night. The shuttle drivers are very friendly and helpful as well. The rooms are beautiful & impeccable, with excellent housekeeping, and THE most comfortable hotel beds & pillows I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Blkstarr26,

You didn't have to go out of your way and review us, but you did. We want you to know we appreciate it. We're thrilled you had a good night sleep and you enjoyed your room. Thank you for complimenting our shuttle drivers as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again.
-Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was very clean upon arrival, housekeeping was not spectacular after check in though , room was nice and cold. bed was comfortable and they had varying types of pillows. Service at front desk was good but they were 30 minutes late on my wake up call. I was extremely disappointed in the room service food choices and the quality of food though. I would not eat here again. It was a very nice hotel but not quite a 5 star experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SmurfySmurfette80,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. This review will help us to improve customer appreciation and satisfaction. Thank you for your review and offering us an opportunity to make our already great services, even better. We're happy you enjoyed the comfortable bed and friendly front desk staff. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel with nice atmosphere. Delicious food in the Lounge. Clean rooms and spacious. The construction across the street starts early -- 5:30 a.m. which was irritating, but not within the control of the hotel. The fitness center needs to be bigger and better air conditioned.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Beloved5,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to making your next experience at Magnolia even better. We're thrilled you enjoyed your room and the lounge. Thank you for your feedback regarding our work-out room. Next time you're in town...let's do it again.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The moment I walked into the Magnolia I was amazed by the lobby and the ambiance. Great comfortable feel with a touch of elegance. The rooms were very accommodating. The bartender (male) was very personal and made the bar what it was. Everything was great throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Great service and Free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi David S,

You didn't have to go out of your way and review us, but ya did. We want you to know we appreciate it. Thank you for complimenting our fantastic staff. We're happy you enjoyed the ambiance at the Magnolia and your room. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first stay at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston but certainly will NOT be our last. Beautiful, great service, excellent location . . . it was everything we hoped for an more!! We were just minutes away from the museum district, Toyota Center, plenty of places to eat, and other Houston hot spots. Loved it!!

Room Tip: We had a fantastic king suite on the 10th floor and it was in a corner with great light and no issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ccb91110,

Great! You said too many awesome things about us. Now we're never gonna find someone as nice as you. We're happy you loved your suite and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next time your in town. We'll be here for you.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.