We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I Ever Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 481 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Best Hotel I Ever Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I travel a lot for work and have vacationed all around the east coast of the US and the Caribbean.This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, the breakfast is phenomenal, the happy hour is a really nice touch. This hotel has the whole package, great rooms, amazing amenities and amazing staff. Not much else you can ask for!

Room Tip: There was construction going on next to the hotel when I was there, I would request a room looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
There is one more thing you could ask for - to stay with us again. Thank you for choosing us, and thanks for staying - we look forward to the next one -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Hague
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the Magnolia for one night in order to attend a concert at the nearby Bayou Theatre. Convenience, happy hour and valet parking made this one a winner and the staff were very nice.

That being said, for the price we expected more than just a standard business hotel. Rooms were tasteful but beginning to be a little run down (caulking and grout in the tub were stained for instance and two of the letters in their outdoor sign were out - said "gnolia"). Food choices for dinner were limited and the breakfast buffet was similar to what you would find at any business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoteckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the feedback - your notes have been digested and we hope to see you again -

regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stay here on business. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The gym is small and not very well equipped but there is a roof top pool with great views. The breakfast is OK and room service is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks for staying with us again and thanks for the review - we hope your next stay is above average, which is where we aim everyday - till then,

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Magnolia a few times over the years and not much changes, the bedrooms are a good size. Always clean and well maintained and the position for access to downtown offices or Minute Maid stadium is excellent.
The bar staff are just brilliant. . For a relaxing beer or two and a nice meal at the bar after a long day, these guys really make you feel at home. They make the difference and that's why The Magnolia is my preferred hotel in Houston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We only rock because our guests rock. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for dropping us aline - we hope to see you again soon -

best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very nice Hotel, located very close to Astros Ballpark, which is why we picked it as we had tickets to a game. The room was large and very clean, with a very comfortable king size bed. A great breakfast buffet was included, as was a Happy Hour in the bar each evening. The rooftop pool was beautiful. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. It was a great stay and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
And recommend us you did! Thanks for choosing us and thanks for leaving your feedback - we look forward to your next stay with us -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPortelance
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

If you're looking for a boutique hotel in downtown Houston, search no further, this is it. Room rates are great and the hotel staff is excellent and friendly. The beds are top notch, the milk and cookie each night are a great touch for kids, and the breakfast buffet was killer! Be sure to check out the rooftop pool for some awesome skyline views at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPortelance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for reviewing! We're glad you dug the location and the view - we'll see you for the next stay!

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

First time to stay at this hotel -- had a blast. I took my daughter and her friend to a concert at Reliant Stadium, and it was super convenient having the light rail stop just a block from the hotel. No traffic, very comfortable. Thanks to the restaurant manager (I think that was his position) for suggesting it.

Also, there was construction across the street, and the hotel did a great job letting me know about it and minimizing the impact. I didn't hear any of it from my room.

Looking for another excuse to visit Houston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Cool concerts, low noise construction, another great stay....sounds familiar! Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 481 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#7 of 481 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Icon, Autograph  Collection
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing