We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I Ever Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #16 of 451 Hotels in Houston
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Best Hotel I Ever Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel a lot for work and have vacationed all around the east coast of the US and the Caribbean.This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous, the breakfast is phenomenal, the happy hour is a really nice touch. This hotel has the whole package, great rooms, amazing amenities and amazing staff. Not much else you can ask for!

Room Tip: There was construction going on next to the hotel when I was there, I would request a room looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
There is one more thing you could ask for - to stay with us again. Thank you for choosing us, and thanks for staying - we look forward to the next one -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    534
    136
    53
    40
See reviews for
283
774
167
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Magnolia for one night in order to attend a concert at the nearby Bayou Theatre. Convenience, happy hour and valet parking made this one a winner and the staff were very nice.

That being said, for the price we expected more than just a standard business hotel. Rooms were tasteful but beginning to be a little run down (caulking and grout in the tub were stained for instance and two of the letters in their outdoor sign were out - said "gnolia"). Food choices for dinner were limited and the breakfast buffet was similar to what you would find at any business hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the feedback - your notes have been digested and we hope to see you again -

regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay here on business. The rooms are spacious and quiet. The gym is small and not very well equipped but there is a roof top pool with great views. The breakfast is OK and room service is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us again and thanks for the review - we hope your next stay is above average, which is where we aim everyday - till then,

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Magnolia a few times over the years and not much changes, the bedrooms are a good size. Always clean and well maintained and the position for access to downtown offices or Minute Maid stadium is excellent.
The bar staff are just brilliant. . For a relaxing beer or two and a nice meal at the bar after a long day, these guys really make you feel at home. They make the difference and that's why The Magnolia is my preferred hotel in Houston.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We only rock because our guests rock. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for dropping us aline - we hope to see you again soon -

best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice Hotel, located very close to Astros Ballpark, which is why we picked it as we had tickets to a game. The room was large and very clean, with a very comfortable king size bed. A great breakfast buffet was included, as was a Happy Hour in the bar each evening. The rooftop pool was beautiful. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. It was a great stay and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
And recommend us you did! Thanks for choosing us and thanks for leaving your feedback - we look forward to your next stay with us -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPortelance
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're looking for a boutique hotel in downtown Houston, search no further, this is it. Room rates are great and the hotel staff is excellent and friendly. The beds are top notch, the milk and cookie each night are a great touch for kids, and the breakfast buffet was killer! Be sure to check out the rooftop pool for some awesome skyline views at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for reviewing! We're glad you dug the location and the view - we'll see you for the next stay!

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time to stay at this hotel -- had a blast. I took my daughter and her friend to a concert at Reliant Stadium, and it was super convenient having the light rail stop just a block from the hotel. No traffic, very comfortable. Thanks to the restaurant manager (I think that was his position) for suggesting it.

Also, there was construction across the street, and the hotel did a great job letting me know about it and minimizing the impact. I didn't hear any of it from my room.

Looking for another excuse to visit Houston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Cool concerts, low noise construction, another great stay....sounds familiar! Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#9 Business Hotel in Houston
#29 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.