We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot get a better value than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Houston
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cannot get a better value than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a business trip. Hotel includes a shuttle service within a few miles from downtown (not much to do in downtown Houston though). They also offer a very nice cookie night in the foyer with complimentary coffee and milk. Also a full breakfast was included with Texas waffles! A must if you need to stay in downtown Houston

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hey Joaquin L,

Those waffles get em every time!! Thanks for the review and thanks for staying with us - c'mon back when you can, us and the waffles will be ready.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    551
    142
    54
    40
See reviews for
292
792
170
592
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went to the Magnolia for the first time for a Mon-Wed business meeting. My room was spacious, well appointed with upscale, clean and functional furnishings. The room floor plan was well laid out, providing a sense of comfortable space and privacy. Excellent sound conditioning.

Our meeting was held in a meeting room just off the lounge on the second floor. This was not only convenient, but the sound conditioning was very effective. The hotel staff provided meals and breaks in-room in a manner that was highly professional. The quality of the food was good. Staff were attentive to our meeting needs and requests, and carried out the introduction and removal of food and beverages with speed, efficiency and quiet (there's a theme here).

The exercise room was undergoing an update while we there, but was available and all the equipment was functioning well - even though it was moved from time to time. The quality of the equipment was of excellent - good gear for a serious workout. There enough machines and free weights so that no one had to wait for equipment. And, perhaps best of all, the air circulation in the exercise room was awesome. Lots of fresh air without lots of wind.

I will gladly return to the Magnolia when ever my travels take me to Houston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Alexan24,

You are the guest that every hotel dreams about. Not only did you take advantage of all of our amenities, but you managed to notice what exactly was working, and took the time to jot it all down in a wonderfully worded review. You help us improve our already elevated standards of service and we appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recommend this hotel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, well-appointed, and clean. The bed was comfy and the bathroom and shower/tub were very nice. It feels very homey and the lounge area serves a complimentary breakfast, 2 free drinks at happy hour, and cookies and milk in the evening. The food in the lounge was superb. The ambiance is so much nicer that a standard hotel. The service was outstanding; every single person I encountered was smiling and helpful and almost seemed to know me. The location is good, right downtown with plenty of restaurants near by. The only drawback was the lack of HD on the televisions. Also, you might want a higher floor; there wasn't much traffic noise but a higher floor will reduce that. I will definitely come back next time I'm in Houston.

Room Tip: HIgher floors will reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Travel_Buff_BL,

Reviews like yours are why we do what we do here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and next time you're in town, let's do it again.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed three nights in early February 2014. Great hotel, good location near several bars and restaurants. Staff was helpful and courteous. Free hot breakfast was great, free happy hour is awesome, and milk cookies really tops it off. Would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hey JB201428,

We're so happy you had such a great experience during your stay! Keep us in mind for the next one.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed only one night (wish it were more) for a quick business trip. Excellent service and great personal attention for a downtown hotel. Rooftop hot tub was very relaxing. Great location for downtown business. Excellent food and we enjoyed the happy hour and cookies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hey kwc99,

Reviews like yours are why we do what we do here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and next time you're in town, let's do it again.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We first stayed at the Magnolia on our wedding night several years ago! and we try to return each year on our anniversary if we're in town. It's always a pleasure...beautifully appointed rooms, great service and a warmth that you don't get at the big chain hotels. We love all the "goodies" that are included--particularly the cookies in the evenings!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Cindy R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we really appreciate all of the mentions. We're so glad we got to take care of you and look forward to doing the same thing again, soon. Till then,

All our best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed and as previously was perfectly happy with most facilities. The room was comfortable and had all the services a regular traveler needs.
The breakfast is a serious disappointment, quality, choice and service all leave much to be desired.
Location is good with numerous good eating options within easy walking distance and the area is safe.
It appears there is a "regular customer" or "club" floor on 3 and rooms on 22 for guests maybe the food is better there.
Would I stay again? Yes, would I recommend it? Yes

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear UkBobC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. You managed to balance your review and highlighted some areas you felt needed improvement. We appreciate this and look forward to serving you again in the future. Until then,

All our best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.