We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient if it meets your needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Convenient if it meets your needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding and the reception was held at the Rice Hotel/Crystal Ballroom which was a short walk away from the Magnolia. The room was nice, but small. The bathroom was large, but they had a coffee pot and honor refrigerator in the bathroom area which seemed strange. I loved the Gilchrist & Soames products in the bathroom. The breakfast and cookies and milk were also a nice touch. They had fruit infused water in the main lobby.

And if you were going to the ballpark, it is a short walk from the hotel. We could see the fireworks from the hotel. And from the rooftop pool area. The pool was a bit small.

The valets for parking were on the job every time we needed our car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    551
    142
    54
    40
See reviews for
292
792
170
591
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Magnolia is a beautiful hotel, from the lobby to bar to the guest room. I stayed a Friday night for work on Saturday at Minute Maid Ballpark - which is only a 5 block walk.

Checking in was quick and easy. There is water (cucumber or orange) in the lobby for a quick refreshment when walking in from the hot Houston streets. Walking through the warm and inviting lobby with fireplace to the elevators. Ask for a room with a view - I had the most gorgeous view of downtown Houston and the church across the street.

The room was large and very comfortable - I sank into the chair when I walked in. The bathroom is large and had a garden tub. It is a little dark in the restroom you have to turn on the makeup mirror if you want to attempt makeup without looking like a clown. Beware that there is a mini bar in the room - taking any drink or food out alerts the desk and charges your room automatically - sodas ring out at $4.50 each. If you need water and drinks there are a couple of markets within walking distance.

Front desk told me about Happy Hour, Cookies and Milk and Free Breakfast - wowzer talk about hitting the jackpot. I went down to The Lounge for Happy Hour which includes beer and wine. Service is a little iffy. Took a bit to get service - the room is large and doesn't feel organized. After my colleague came down and we had a glass of wine we decided to try to find the restaurant. Little did we know that The Lounge is the restaurant, the same area for Happy Hour. Still felt very disorganized - we moved to a table and waited to order dinner. Again service - iffy. So we finally did order and it took FOREVER for a tiny plate of cheese and crackers - but it was good. And because it was raining we stayed for dinner as well. The food was okay - enough choices but the sauce on the chicken was odd and the garden salad was tiny.

After dinner we went for a walk as the rain had let up - quite a few little bars and restaurants within a 6 block walk. Next time we will try one of those for dinner. Also the train is within a couple blocks so that is an option too.

When we came back there were cookies and milk in The Lounge - YUMMY! And the coffee is fantastic. We grabbed our coffee and cookies and went in to the Library, that is a really cool meeting space.

The pool is on the top floor - an amazing view of Houston. You have to walk through the gym to get to the pool but it is a nice patio area. The pool is just a little garden pool and there is a whirlpool.

The bed was wonderful - fell right into bed and slept well. Breakfast the nice morning was in The Lounge again - this time they had large tables set out and seemed more organized than the night before. Big food selection - was tasty. They have a menu too if you would rather not eat the buffet.

We took taxis in from the airport so we did not valet a car - its $26 a day. Valet was very helpful in arranging a complimentary shuttle/car to the Ballpark the next morning. When I asked about a taxi for later they said they would arrange a car for us. Valet kept our luggage and told us to walk the 5 blocks back and they would shuttle us for $60 (same as a taxi) to the IAH airport.

All in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you want to see downtown Houston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Magnolia rooms are well appointed, quiet, with great bed and pillows, strong room wi-fi with speed alternatives if you want to stream video or just send/receive email. Desk set up with a plug strip, so can charge all devices easily.

Enjoyed the decent free breakfast and free cookies & milk every night. Also have a pool on the top floor, but never used/seen it....

Like that is close to some nice restaurants, although walking in Downtown at night can make you a bit nervous.
They have a free transportation service to take you/pick you up at places close by.

Only complaint...it was impossible to take a cold shower!!!....room 1414 shower's water controls would not surrender cold water!....only very warm or extremely hot water....need to fix.

Normally I stay at the Hyatt to get points and miles, but got fed up of the loud room A/C, crappy wi-fi and thin walls....do miss having Shula's in the lobby....


Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stay at this property once or twice a year for a week or two at a time. It's the best value in downtown Houston. If you want a five star property, go to the Four Seasons, but if you'd like to have things like a full breakfast, a cocktail hour, milk and cookies, and a well equipped gym all included in the rate, then the Magnolia produces. Staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable, with most in the process of getting upgraded. There's even a small outdoor pool up on the roof, a rare amenity downtown. Location is a block from Main Street, six blocks to the ballpark and close to all offices downtown. And the hotel provides a complimentary car service to and from any address in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and upgrade to an 08 corner room, especially if staying longer than a couple of nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I enjoyed the location of this hotel, as it was near great restaurants and the Hobby Center. The valet team was wonderful. The pool is small... the lounging around type. The front desk staff were ever helpful. Best continental breakfast I've ever had. My room was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was not really impressed with this hotel. The pictures made it look nicer than it was.
The rooms were a good size but the breakfast area was too big and very unorganized. The pool was tiny and you had to go through the gym to get to it. The one thing we liked was its location, right downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved this hotel! Easy walking distance to Minute Maid Park. Breakfast buffet was very good not your typical hotel breakfast! The only down side is parking. The hotel staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.