We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Anniversary Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #18 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Anniversary Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Magnolia Hotel provided a free suite upgrade to us as we were celebrating our 5th anniversary. The hotel is in a great location convenient to restaurants and activities. The building itself is the historic Post-Dispatch building and has been remodeled tastefully. The rooms are large, comfortable, and comfortable and immaculately clean. The amenities were great--wine/beer hour, evening cookies & milk, and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Always choose the suites as the difference in price is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    534
    137
    53
    40
See reviews for
283
776
167
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ravenna Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Magnolia is very nice. friendly staff! nice location! right downtown! pretty lobby,good coffe and muffins in the morning,fast valet but, the best part is the rooms . very comfortable beds,pillows and very large- bathroom is very big. our room had a view of the city.i say stay at the Magnolia for sure! xoxo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Magnolia Hotel in Houston is a lovely boutique hotel that makes you feel at home while you are away. My room was spacious, very clean, with lots of plugs for my computer and phones. Its downtown location allowed me to walk to and from the office which was a big bonus, and I appreciated that they have a shuttle, as I don't like renting cars when I travel. The staff was always nice and helpful, room service was prompt and very good. Having breakfast service is such a treat when I am on the road for work - one less thing to figure out, and I appreciated the hot and cold options. I stay at the Magnolia in Dallas quite a bit so I also appreciated that the set-up is the same....comfort away from home. I didn't get a chance to check out the gym, but I understand it is on the roof and quite breath-taking....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

LOVED this hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful room, comfortable stay, and the extras were much appreciated. The complimentary happy hour, cookies, and breakfast bar were great touches that added to how much we enjoyed our stay. We left feeling refreshed and pampered. If the biggest quibble you have with a place is lack of complimentary parking you know you're splitting hairs. The valet was prompt and courteous at any rate. I appreciated the express check-out as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Houston. Check in was completed quick and front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all our questions and how to make our way around town. We had a standard room with an awesome view of downtown Houston. They also have a rooftop pool, it was to breezy for us to use but the magnificent views are worth a trip up to the 23rd floor. There was an initial hitch in getting shuttle transportation(a small suv) to the convention center due to the majority of the guests staying there were all going to the convention, but the transportation staff did a tremendous job at keeping everything moving smoothly once they pulled out the mini van. After we found our way around it was a nice walk(about15mins) though the city park(beautiful) back to the hotel from the convention center. A nice extra perk was the wonderful complimentary breakfast bar (hot and cold items) and a cookies and milk snack served before bedtime. Will definitely visit the Magnolia again.

Room Tip: (Tip – Taxi rides within the downtown area only $6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel - nothing bad to say at all! My room was nice and clean - loved the over-sized bathtub! The fitness center and pool was well above my expectations - lots to offer and the size of the fitness area was GREAT! The rooftop pool and jacuzzi was a nice touch as well. It was little chilly in the evening during my visit and the pool wasn't heated, but that was OK because the jacuzzi was right next to it and I was able to enjoy relaxing in it a bit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took advantage of the Mother's day special and were impressed with the comfortable room and loved the complimentary bottle of wine! The breakfast buffet was great but the seating not so much, had to wait until I could snag a table for us. The cookie buffet would've been great if there would've been cookies available! It was apparent that some folks forgot their manners and got stacks of cookies! Luckily when we ordered room service and I mentioned this to our waiter, he graciously brought some freshly baked cookies and cold milk up for us. The free valet parking was great. Nice location close to the ballpark. All in all, it was a pleasant stay for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#9 Business Hotel in Houston
#28 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.