We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for downtown, can walk to the ballpark.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #16 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location for downtown, can walk to the ballpark.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights for the weekend. They had quick valets, a free shuttle, complimentary breakfast and staff that was helpful. Rooftop view was great so make sure you go up and see it. You can see the ballpark from their. Only ding- elevators slow and small.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    551
    142
    54
    40
See reviews for
292
790
170
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Mother's day special was why we visited. The experience was great all the way around. All the perks appear to be business as usual but are appreciated. The complimentary happy hour, the cookie/coffee/ and milk buffet and the the generous breakfast buffet make for a memorable and relaxing visit.
The building clearly has some age on it but the rooms are nice and the bathroom was excellent, big clean tub - fantastic hotel shower-head. The bed was very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel during a convention in Houston. It was an easy walk, about a mile, from the Convention Center. Our room was pleasant, clean and well-equipped, and the bed was among the most comfortable, if not THE most comfortable, hotel bed I have slept in. We had a little problem with the phone message light; it would not go off after the message was picked up, and a call to the desk brought a promise of action, but no results. Hot water was instant and plentiful (sometimes a problem elsewhere). The hotel provides not only a free breakfast with plenty of choices, but also an evening reception (free drinks) and "bedtime" milk and cookies in the restaurant. The restaurant itself offered excellent food, but slow service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went here on business for four days for a conference. Well located downtown near the light rail, and if you're a baseball or hoops fan, not far from either Astros or Rockets games. The 2nd floor lounge is very nice, complimentary breakfast in the morning and milk/cookies in the evening. I did not try the rooftop pool, but did use their workout room. I would have liked a flat bench there to use in some free weight exercises, but as far as hotel gyms go, it was fine. Only annoyance really is the valet parking, you just need to give yourself 10-15 minutes lead time to get the car back (you can text them ahead of time to retrieve it). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I really liked the Magnolia Hotel. The staff was very friendly and seemed to always be there when you had a question. I was here on business for a trade show and we spent $225/night. The location worked well because of the proximity to the train tracks so it was easy to move about. The rooms were clean, beds were soft and the shower was powerful and relaxing. My only minor beef is I never understand why these high end hotels have to ding you for wi fi. I can stay in Red Roof and get free wi fi but at the high end $225/night places I find that I have to pay or use the super slow free version they offer. Other than that everything was nice and I would recommend this for a nice get away or a trip to the city. In my opinion this is an expensive business hotel but if you can afford it or your company is OK with it I say go for it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was sent to Houston for a convention at the convention center downtown, but all the hotels our company usually used were booked, so they booked me into the Magnolia sight unseen. Boy, did I luck out.

The cost was the same as the other hotels (business rate = $99/weeknight), but it's location was fantastic and the rooms were spacious and comfy. I would not classify this as a 'boutique' hotel, because it doesn't have clever or kitschy ambiance, but for a business traveller, it was excellent.

Location, Location, Location
The location was central to good restaurants, some transportation (light rail), a great Sundance Movie Theater, some downtown shopping, and of course, the convention center. I had no car, but didn't need one (which is shocking for Texas, let me tell you). Everyone attending the convention walked (9 blocks or so), even though the hotel provided big buses to take them as well.

Near the convention center (southeast of the hotel) is a lovely park with a jogging trail, a pond, a large green space that houses lots of events and The Grove, a really excellent restaurant.

A short walk in the other direction (northwest of the hotel) will take you to the Sundance Movie Theater, which I highly recommend. It is one of those theaters that show independent flicks with wine and food. (and it just so happened that Robert Redford was there for the debut of a movie he produced...he still looks good...craggy, but still scenic).

Surrounding the theater are some restaurants (the Italian one- Little Napoli is awful, but has great terrace people watching ambiance). Blue Fish seafood is worth going to, though. In the same vicinity as the theater is the Music Hall and the Houston Opera house. A brief taxi cab ride past that is the downtown Houston aquarium (but I wouldn't walk to it).

Around the hotel, the area looks a bit sparse as far as restaurants go, but there were enough people sitting around at outdoor restaurant patios that I didn't feel nervous walking around. I stumbled upon an "Irish pub", Shay McElroys, that served no Irish food, but did serve Irish nachos, (ba dum bum), and had excellent wait staff and soccer on the tubes.

Inside the Hotel
The rooms were spacey and the beds comfy. I had a King bed with extra pillows. My room was very quiet and I slept like a rock.
The bath was bigger than mine at home, and the hot water pressure was excellent.

The lobby had some nice comfortable sitting areas, and best of all, evening milk and cookies on the second floor!
I didn't get to swim in the rooftop pool (even in Texas, swimming outdoors in November makes a statement), but the setting was quite pretty.

I didn't eat there, but in the morning, Minuti coffee is one block away, and it is a great place for lattes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about my five day/four night stay at this hotel was excellent! Food and service especially.... The bed was extremely comfortable! I would stay there again the next time I'm in Houston. It was very centrally located and you can't beat FREE shuttle, FREE breakfast, FREE happy hour, FREE dessert....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.