We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel, you'll enjoy your stay. Lovely rooms, valet service makes downtown easy. Close to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #18 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrific hotel, you'll enjoy your stay. Lovely rooms, valet service makes downtown easy. Close to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Great rate, excellent service. Upper end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    551
    142
    54
    40
See reviews for
292
790
170
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MARIETTA, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very clean rooms, friendly service, and good food. Everything you need is in walking distance from hotel. Bus and shuttle service, valet parking, and within walking distance of the the Houston Astros stadium. Had a great experience......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Great room. Good breakfast. Interesting art. Perfect location for wedding we were attending.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

All aspects excellent. Staff courteous and helpful. Very nice room. We didn't make full use of all of the facilities but enjoyed breakfast and made it to the happy hour once. The real advantage for us was walk ability within the central area (also close to tramlines for museum district). Good choice of eating within walking distance. We used the cathedral car park across the block as much the best deal on parking if you wanted to leave car for more than a few hours

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel's decor is striking and handsome; the staff professional, and the beds comfortable. The breakfast is particularly nice -- but beware: they're prone to cancel it without warning if there's a private event booked for that space. (I came downstairs, hungry, and found myself out of luck.) And there aren't many other places downtown to eat breakfast on weekends. Pack a banana, or else resign yourself to a cab ride.

I've recently stayed at the Lancaster, just a couple blocs down Texas Ave., and given the choice would take that over the Magnolia. But this is a perfectly agreeable alternative. (And yes on the great big bathtubs here -- they're really nice.)

Personal rant: I'm an attractive, well-turned-out middle-aged woman who travels alone on business a lot. And I've got a real chip on my shoulder about how often I get stuck in a tiny room on the second floor nine miles from the elevator, next to the cleaning storage and with a view of a brick wall. Hotel managers seem to think they can screw single woman travelers this way, and we won't complain. It happens far too predictably for it to be mere coincidence.

And it happened (again) here. They were nice about finding me a better room when I asked for one, but Lordy -- why do we always have to go through that tango?

Once in a while, I find a hotel that sees a woman on her own, and decides that what I need is some extra pampering, protection, and looking after. I get a nice quiet room on an upper floor, and a little extra attention. When I'm a long way from home and husband, I cherish those places. The Magnolia has a competitor right down the street that excels at this, and might want to reconsider its policies.

Next time, I'm back at the Lancaster.

Room Tip: They've got a lot of rooms with ugly views of roofs and brick walls. If view matters, make this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Magnolia hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient and the amenities are very good. There is a rooftop pool/hot tub that is open late (11pm) and a 24 hour fitness center. There is a decent selection of restaurants, pubs, and sights within a few blocks of this hotel and the neighbourhood seemed fairly safe for pedestrians. The continental breakfast included in the room cost is nothing special, but it has a decent selection of healthy and greasier items. The hotel bar is equipped with a pool table and has plenty of comfy lounge style seating. Wifi included in the cost of the room is a big thumbs up for me :)

Room Tip: Ask for a view... I looked at a vent :( Also, if you are staying on weekends there can be large par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel on our vacation to Houston around Easter. We usually try not to stay right in the downtown area, but made an exception with the Magnolia as a friend had recommended this hotel. We were not disappointed. The staff went above and beyond as soon as we arrived, from the valet, to the front-desk staff and the bellman. Our room on the 20th floor was a generous size with a king bed, a nice bathroom with an oversized bathtub, and a wetbar area wtih a minibar. We had a nice view facing the church across the street. There was an evening happy hour with free domestic beer/house wine, evening milk and cookies, and a daily free breakfast buffet. The bar staff were always very friendly, and the breakfast was quite plentiful, especially on the weekends, with eggs/bacon/sausage/biscuits & gravy/cereals/yogurt and more. There was a very small outdoor pool and hottub on the roof of the building which offered great views of the city. The location was very good, within walking distance to Minute Maid Park, the Preston light rail station, and easy access to the downtown tunnel system (though not directly connected to) with lots of restaurants/shopping below. Despite a few abandoned buildings/construction around, the overall area seemed pretty nice, and we felt safe walking around, even after dark. I believe they also have a car service that will take you to various points around downtown, but we didn't take advantage of this. Check out was prompt and efficient, and we never waited more than 5 minutes to get our car out of the valet. Overall we had a great time at the Magnolia and in Houston, and I would highly recommend the Magnolia Houston for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.