We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel, great service, comfortable bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off our best rates
Ranked #13 of 451 hotels in Houston
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“Excellent boutique hotel, great service, comfortable bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel - so accommodating! Would stay again! Room are extremely, quiet, spacious and very comfortable beds. Cab ride to Galleria $20 for 2, but hotel shuttle does go with in several blocks of hotel and were very quick and responsive when needing a ride. Nice bar and free breakfast buffet

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,274
    525
    124
    53
    40
See reviews for
266
754
165
546
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Magnolia Hotel in the Theatre District is brilliant for both location, the amenities and the staff !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Would stay again good location near a lot of great Houston area landmarks. can walk to a lot of fun places to eat and listen to great music. Evening reception was good but have had wider drinking selection.Breakfast was good and enjoyed the complementary taxi service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great hotel, wonderful staff and a fantastic room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I travel for business at least once a month and this was my first trip to Houston. I stayed at the Magnolia for 2 weeks and it is a pleasant hotel and the staff are very friendly. When I checked out my company card was refused (even though it was accepted everywhere else before and after). Then my colleague couldn't settle the bill over the phone as it was not their 'policy'. So I ended up paying with my personal card and upon my return home was charged £124 for the transaction by Magnolia's bank.

This issue still remains unresolved and so leaves a very bad taste in the mouth!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The rooms were very attractive and well furnished ~~Unusual floor plan layout. Beautiful bathroom. Large. Great shower. We loved the Lounge and the complimentary happy hour. The large screen tv in the lounge was great for us because it was during playoffs for football season. The complimentary breakfast was healthy and plentiful for us runners leaving for the Houston Marathon races that morning. The valet parking was fast and efficient. The Magnolia is located only blocks from Minute Maid Park or the Convention Center for those going to Houston for events there. Easy to get in and out to local highways.
Loved the hotel.

Room Tip: the only thing I can think of is that there are 23 floors so if you care how high you are that could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We chose this hotel for a cultural visit to the city - two concerts and a museum exhibition - on my husband's birthday. The location is ideal and it was wonderful to be able to walk to and from the concert halls and nearby restaurants. We booked a suite at a promotional rate based on reviews here, just for the view, and it didn't disappoint, and while we weren't able to take advantage of the suite's facilities, or the pool and exercise room, on just a one night stay, the room was stylish, spacious, and comfortable. The evening reception served two free drinks, but no accompanying snacks or food. While the wine was good, I would have preferred one drink and some appetizers. Breakfast was included, but despite (good) bacon and home fries, there were no eggs - it cost $6 to have an omelette - and no other protein. At least hard-boiled eggs would be welcome. I'm guessing in-room partying is fairly common at this hotel because we had to sign a noise policy on checking in - I've never come across this anywhere else. Fortunately our room, at the far end of the hallway was quiet. At $24 the valet parking seems steep even for the city. Despite these minor gripes I would recommend this hotel as I don't think one can do any better in downtown Houston for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of Houston lit up at night, ask for a room on an upper floor. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Business Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.