We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hearsay

Hearsay
218 Travis Street, Historic Market Square, Houston, TX 77002
7132258079
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hearsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress
Mont Belvieu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I had a weekend getaway for Labor Day and dined at Hearsay in Downtown Houston, Texas. We tried the 3 course dinner special for the night and it was delicious! Crab cakes for an appetizer was delicious and the remoulade sauce was super! Our entree' was a 6oz. filet with mashed potatoes and fresh veggies!!! YUMMO! Topped off the meal with dessert, toffee bundt cake drizzled with caramel and topped off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! TO DIE FOR!!!! The ambiance is incredible.....very quaint. It's a small place, so if you are in a hurry or have a large group, you need to call for reservations. Great Place!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    39
    17
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A small group of us decided to try the lunch menu for Houston Restaurant Weeks! The atmosphere was great but not much seating available. The staff was friendly and the live band was wonderful. We ordered the calamari, beet salad, grilled salmon, the burger, chocolate cake and cheesecake. The food was decent but not anything too special and it took quite awhile for them to prepare it.. I would recommend this place for drinks before a show or night on the town but not really for its food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really awesome historic building open to the cast iron ceiling three stories high!!!!. my salad after the Astros game is delicious very amaiable friendly staff. looks like the bar is has any cocktail,beer or wine you would want.I just wasn't in the desire to have one,but i would recommend those too.l.Its in Market Square which always has a happy crowd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the coolest spots in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is in a really cool old building (over 100 years old!) with 40 foot ceilings. The ambiance is really nice. They have flights of whiskey, really knowledgeable bartenders, and great cocktails. I've heard their brunch is fantastic and I can't wait to try it! I wish I could go this month (August) because it's part of Restaurant Weeks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go for the brunch on the weekends, thank me later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hearsay is one of those places that if you walk by or didn't know any better, you'd swear it was a hipster mecca. Not even a little bit. When you walk in you can tell this is a place with history. From the 3 story tall ceiling (which you can see all the way up because it's only a story and a half's worth of seating) to the long bar, this is a place that you want to sit and enjoy. We always come here on the weekends for their amazing brunch. They serve fantastic food, great cocktails and the servers are always extremely pleasant (even if they're so busy they take a little while to get to you). I initially wanted to come here when I read they had chicken and waffles. Having spent a large portion of my life in Florida and Georgia, I know good c&w. And Hearsay is the real deal. They infuse Vanilla into a light, tender waffle and top it with a delicious, savory chicken breast (with not a lot of batter on the chicken btw). It's simply the best thing to have for breakfast. Anywhere. But lest you think this is only about the food, they are serving up some of the finest whiskey and rum cocktails anywhere in Houston. I love the Jacketed in Barbados, the Blood & Sand and the Topless in Barbados. All 3 are delicious. Be prepared to wait if you don't have a reservation as they do fill up.

Oh, they also have some of the best Spanish guitarists I've ever heard and they play every weekend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearsay also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hearsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.