We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2828 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098-4502 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #232 of 457 Hotels in Houston
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times and I love the location. It's a short drive to just about everywhere and very convenient to Hobby Airport. There are great restaurants all around the hotel and even a nearby park across the parking lot for the kiddos. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable. I will stay here again. The cost is always very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    58
    49
    37
See reviews for
41
37
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Little did I know that this hotel was the very same hotel made famous by a scathing power point presentation back when it was called Double Tree Club. It seems that the General Manager is still the same and he is still running a very poor property. It's a shame.

Room Tip: Stay at another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stay aprox 50 nights a year at starwood properties. At the beginning of this year, I hopped from hotel-to-hotel every night so I could qualify for SPG Platinum sooner. I stayed here nine (9) times this year, and there is nothing wrong with this property, particularly because I paid no more than $80/night.

Check in each time has been quick and great. Everyone is friendly and they were starting to recognize me. Offered some water every time I checked in. One time my room was not ready when checking in early and I had to wait 10 minutes.

The lobby is pretty modern, the hallways are very dated (but clean), but the rooms are brand new and modern, reflecting the new 4 points design. Hardwood floors when you come in. Pool is right on the freeway and is not very desirable. Gym is ok, one of each type of equipment, small, impossible to get machine in AM. Good places to run nearby, however.

The rooms are small by American standards (above average by EU standards). It's all you need. Clean. Internet is free and good. TV is clear. Bathroom is a bit small but not bad. Water pressure is fierce. Nothing at all is wrong. I always got a north facing room, which faces a dog park.

Location is great. I don't know why some people think Upper Kirby is an unsafe area. It's not. Yes, it's on a freeway, yes, it's surrounded by office towers (and therefore is not very lively at night), but it's not unsafe. Great food options nearby and some great bars within 10 min drive. Room service is also available: cheap and not bad, although not very healthy.

Complaints: south facing rooms (facing freeway) are loud. Housekeepers jump from room-to-room a lot, and instead of propping doors wide open, they hold them slightly ajar with the interior door safety latch. The result is a loud BOOM when the door strikes the latch, occurring about every minute between 1000-1400. I asked for someone to send up two beer glasses, told there will be a $2.50 delivery charge. I had to drag my lazy self downstairs. Siiigh.

For what you pay, this is really really really good value. It's not bad. Really, it's not. It's a Four Points, so no one is going to cater to every whim of yours. Which is fine, because you're only going to pay $60-$80 a night. The location, although on a freeway, is great. I hope they don't change a thing because it will probably result in the price going up, and I don't want that.

Yes, I'd rather stay at a Westin. We'd all rather stay at a Westin, but this property, for the price, is well above average.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I will not stay here again. The towels had hair in them. The housekeepers came in my room while my husband & I were asleep. They could only speak spanish & I had to go speak to a Supervisor which helped out. The air didn't get very cool.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I travel to Houston often so I know my way around and this hotel is in a great location. Convenient access to I59 which leads to other interstates, as well as shopping and restaurants.
It is very centrally located. It is very comfortable and clean. Has a small restaurant if needed as well as a bar. Only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because I don't consider it a luxury hotel. But quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a horrible hotel. The front desk clerk, Laine was very rude. I would not recommend. The only good thing about the hotel was the manager, Matt was very accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I strongly recommend NOT staying at this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that actually care about their customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest

Address: 2828 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest is centrally located between downtown and the Galleria, with easy access via U.S. 59 at Kirby. The rooms are well-appointed and feature upscale amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
4 Points By Sheraton Houston Southwest
Four Points Houston Southwest
Houston Four Points
Houston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Houston Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.