We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport to your Saves list
Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12485 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Detroit Mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I travel for work and vacation a lot and i have a hard time spending more than 75 a night for a hotel. I found this gem for 45 online and couldn't ask for more. Room was marginal but i have stayed in worse. Prostitution makes for good people watching. 420 friendly as far as i have found judging by the stench wafting from every floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
5
7
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sometimes, you just get what you pay for. The room was cheap and it protected us from the rain and air pollution for the night. Other than that, the place had no redeeming qualities. Service was bad. The building was dilapidated and the room was smelly. They provide a coffee maker but not even a single packet of coffee.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Although the facility is next to the Gulf Freeway I couldn't hear the car noises. Walls are sort of thin in between rooms so make sure you are not next to a room with babies. Overall decent for the weekly rate. New cable provider with 100+ channels. Pets of all sizes apparently welcome. Staff is friendly and eager to solve customer's issues. Kitchenette available but you have to bring your own pots and pans. Rooms are bigger and more parking available and costs less than an extended stay down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

bugs mold smell and did not have clean sense of feel
rusty tub and when i left before 10 am they forged time i left to keep
my money the lady that helped me Grace was no longer there
(( imagine that )) manager was standing there.. forged my time of leaving
eventhough i have proof i was at hospital .... shady place and people
this is the second coment i place.. first was not posted! wonder why???

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First time staying at a extended stay and it was a different kind of stay. The customer service was GREAT and the rooms are getting remodeled. They really know how to make you feel at home, the GM is running around giving great customer service and helping out with the remodel. The rooms are wonderful. Thanks Cranita and staff for a great stay I will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring Tx
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here on 4/19/13 for one night. I will never stay there again. I hope this review helps someone in the future. I looked at 3 rooms before I had no where else to go at this time of the day. The first room had furniture that we falling apart , the fridg did not work, the tv only got 4 good stations out of like 12 or more. The faucet on the kitchen sink was just about to come off when I turned on the water. The tile floor and carpet were durty. They didn't even change out the old roll of toilet paper from the last people that stayed there.
The breaker panel cover in the room would not stay closed (fire hazard big time) .

So I went to another room that was just about the same but had one more thing that really took the cake as far as being gross and that was the room smelled of somke when I asked for NON SMOKING!!! The people next door were , well we will leave that out due to they live there.

We #3 room is the one that I stayed in. The fridg and micro were new so this was good. The tv was good also. The floors and capet left the bottom of my socks black. The bed was nothing but springs on my back. The botton of the front door had a gap on it big enough for a kid to put his hand under. And now for the big thing wrong in this room. ROACHES in the bathroom.

The elevator was disgusting and filthy. The walk way ceilings outside the rooms had eletrical junction boxes with wires hanging out and this was right outside of the main office.
I was told by a women that lives there as a tenant that this was a quite place to stay at. Well guess what it's not cause when I got back to the room after where I had been for a few hours there were 6 Houston cop cars and about 7 cops at a room up stairs .

I plan on calling the Houston health dept about this place. SO PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The good:
(1) free wi-fi with decent strength
(2) expanded cable with 3 HBOs
(3) room includes alarm clock, full size fridge, two range cooktop, microwave, two sets of dishes and silverware (no cookware though), a coffeepot, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
(4) The A/C worked well
(5) decent tap water
(6) onsite coin-op laundry
(7) elevator
(8) Elle (night security girl) and Pedro (maintenance)

The BAD, UGLY AND WORST:
(1) Difficult check in even when paying cash: you cannot check in after 8pm at ALL if you dont have a prepaid reservation!
(2) The bedroom furnishings are all OLD!! Broken, torn, chipped and several noticeable layers of paint. Even the television is a 15 yr old big box style.
(3) Absolutely no local network channels (i.e. ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX or even PBS)
(4) Overflowing trash piles by the stairs (extended staying guests have to bag up and carry their own trash out and ask at front desk for any coffee, fresh linens or towels!)
(5) Incredibly loud! Road traffic from interstate and highway as well as walls and ceiling/floors being thin. Even though the hotel had barely half capacity, it seems they bunch the guests together.
(6) The ROACHES and other misc crawlies!! They did come spray my room the first time but this didnt help. When I asked to be moved a day and a half later, I was told they "would have to get back to me." Of course, NOTHING happened! I was even asked if I was sure I wasnt leaving food out...as if to suggest Im just inviting them over to hang out or something!!!
(7) ATROCIOUS customer service!!! The Asst Gen Mngr and the Gen Mngr both work at the desk so......no help there! The first rule of any cust. serv. job is NEVER start by telling a customer what you CANT do! When have you ever went or called in anywhere and heard "Hi! How may I NOT help you today?!"

Needless to say, even after a five to six day stay, I wasnt offered anything except excuses at Sun Suites and made reservations somewhere else for the next two weeks of our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport

Address: 12485 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Of Hobby / Clearlake Hotel Houston
Sun Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites of Houston-Hobby Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.