We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Flavors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
904 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77006
(713) 522-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Incredible Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The most expensive sushi of my life was also the most incredible. Go big or go home. $800 for two of us and it was sushi and champagne. The flavor arrangement is so intricate that the chef shows you how to place the piece in your mouth for palette response. Crazy I know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    43
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very, very good. My wife and I got the tasting menu with additions and subtractions from our waiter and were blown away. It's not cheap, but it's one of the best meals I have ever had (I think we spent around $150 for both of us including a few drinks). It's also fairly casual for a place in this price range which I appreciated.

I recommend asking your waiter a lot of questions because they are very friendly and had a ton of information about what we were eating. We had a booth, but I believe there are some communal tables which might be a negative for some people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We are from NY, where quality sushi places abound, but this place is great. Creative, delicious food, very hip place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Modern Japanese on Steriods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining around the globe. This is the most unique inspired fresh and interesting approach to Japanese I have come across. Every thing we tried was unique and delicious, even the flash fried Brussel sprouts were great. It's a popular restaurant for a good reason the food, service and atmosphere is top notch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Domo arigato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Loved it. Got there before 5 and door was locked. Came back 15 minutes after 5 and the sushi bar was full. Cool atmosphere...unique and delicious samplings. Waiter (blonde guy from NewZealand...Matt?) was best waiter I've had in a while. He recited the menu items like a gastronomic chemist...brought just what we wanted and didn't hard sell anything.
Will be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.