We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectantly Busy but great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
904 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77006
(713) 522-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Expectantly Busy but great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant with a young urban and well defined vibe. My husband and I decided to check them out for the first time, inquiring about reservations the day before. They did not have our desired times but that was expected. We decided to wing it and wait for a bar/seating area. Overall, great place and we will return.

Very busy! The bar, table seating, outdoor patio, were all going and all at once. Its nice to see a busy establishment, it is not so nice when you see patrons and employees stressed over the matter. This was not the case here. Employees were upbeat and a system appeared to be in place to handle to customer count. We stood by the bar enjoying the strongest sake combination (no liquor) the bar tender could whip up and waited for a place to sit.

Service: I can sum it up by stating great. The hostess managed to remember us through the crowd and offered updates. A young lady was passing out samples to either everyone or in an effort to keep those waiting content (I believe it was a 2 hour wait...) no complaints here. Service spot on!

Atmosphere: Definitely a younger crowd, perhaps mostly 25-35. Business casual and urban trendy dress was prominent, A weekend night would be a great date place for an energetic couple or small group of friends. Diverse enough for anyone to visit and enjoy themselves.

Food: Very good, once ordered very quick, and once consumed you'd like more! No, we sampled a few different items and they were all good. Presentation was fun and we almost wanted to turn a simple husband/wife date night into a half day excursion. Great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    43
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband took me here for our 20th anniversary.I loved the small plate options as this allowed us to order a number of things. All the food looked beautiful, and the crunchy tuna roll was delicious!! The atmosphere was so relaxing and the decor was perfect!! Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“too greasy and salty for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After reading such wonderful reviews on tripadvisor, we were thrilled to visit Uchi, Houston at their happy hours. We ordered a number of dishes including makimono, spicy crunchy tuna roll, uchiviche, kakiage, yaki imo, brussel sprouts, snow crabs, bacon otoshi. The dishes were all beautifully presented, and the portions were small (mouthful at most). We were surprised that we found most of the dishes to be quite salty, and rather greasy. We were not sure if we had ordered the wrong dishes- many dishes were deep-fried, or made out of very fatty cuts of meat (such as pork belly or bacon). And most dishes sat in flavorful but heavily salted sauces- including the yaki imo, brussel sprouts and snow crabs. Sadly, we have to report this is not one of my Houston favorites. We were glad we tried this restaurant, but will unlikely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Contemporary Sushi and Japanese Food, Well-Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the unique presenation and ingredients, to the spot-on preparation, this is a great place for sushi and Japanese cuisine. The menu consists almost entirely of small plates, each done with a flair for creative use of fresh, non-traditional ingredients, along with all the old standards.

Prices are not cheap, but not out of line with the quality. Service was very professional and efficient, while remaining friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was lively and energetic.

In sum, this was the best sushi experience I've had in a long time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
“5 STARS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Big smiles at the door as one go in, gracious, helpful and well dressed wait staff, food prepared to p-e-r-f-e-c-t-i-o-n and a great atmosphere with sophisticated decor, lights and music selection really transforms a restaurant in the place to be. Easier said than done, Uchi does get it all right, without missing a single ingredient !
For such a place with a variety of excellent choices in the menu, best is to leave in the experienced hands of Ali, The Master Chef (if you are sitting on the sushi bar) to craft for you a great journey thru the flavors and textures of the place. A sure come back !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.