We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's very good and worth any trip when visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
904 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77006
(713) 522-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7,206 restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's very good and worth any trip when visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I haven't touted my home town in a while (it's only because I travel a lot). I recently went to Uchi's over the weekend. I really loved my experience there

The one thing that really stands out is that the vibe of the people dining at Uchi's and the staff are so positive and you don't hear complaints about food or service. It's one of the few times that I have eaten at a place and everything is so positive.

On to the food. The sushi is good and the dishes they have are done with great delicacy and with flavor. I can't say enough of how much this place is really good.

Great food, great service, positive vibe makes a great combination for such a great restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    208
    39
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Party for the tastebuds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hands down best sushi in Houston. Inventive menu executed to perfection. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. A little pricey but you get what you pay for!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Uchi is definitely my favorite restaurant in Houston! We have been four times and every time the food is delicious and the service fantastic. I can't think of any other restaurant experience in which the servers are consistently excited and informed about every dish. They make the dining experience fabulous!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“food and service was AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

loved the food.. disliked that by 7:30pm some of their daily specials were already sold out!!! will definitely come back early to make sure I can get the best dishes!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Agree with the rating. This is the number one place in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am thrilled to know that this place is the number one restaurant in Houston because I truly believe it is. My wife and I have been here twice in the last three weeks. This is absolutely one of the best meals we've ever had. All staff is very knowledgeable and would be very glad to recommend some of their favorites. Here are my suggestions:
Cool appetizer: machi cure (smoked baby yellow­tail, yucca crisp, marcona almond, asian pear, garlic brittle)
Hot appetizer: jar jar duck(countryside farms duck٠kumquat٠ endive٠rosemary smoke)
Mamimono(sushi rolls): Zero sen(yellowtail٠avocado٠shallot٠ cilantro٠tobiko٠yuzu), mustang(reshwater eel٠yellowtail٠ tobiko٠avocado) and shag(tempura roll٠salmon٠ avocado٠sun-dried tomato)
sushi(nigiri): bara mutso, foie nigiri
All of this accompanied by a cold Asashi Black an you will be up for one of the best meals in your life. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.