We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try: elderberry dessert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uchi

Uchi
904 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77006
(713) 522-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must try: elderberry dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Came here at 6pm on a weekday and definitely still waited 40 minutes, however, this was many months ago when it was still freshly opened. The food is good enough to feel authentic, but innovative enough to be very concept restaurant esque, like the shiitake in the traditional staple miso soup. Everything you can get on the menu is delicious; we had ordered a bunch of different rolls and were not disappointed. I recommend seating at the bar for a fun experience chatting with the chef and seeing the preparation, and table dining is also fine but may take awhile. The waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly and attentive especially given how crowded it was. The place, like most restaurants in the area compared to the rest of Houston is small, which makes for a packed, crowded ambience that is fun but may be just a tad too loud. Definitely a place to take someone very special/that you'd like to impress, dress code is casual to business casual. I would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    43
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place is so good and the food so deliciously inventive, I'm not sure I'm qualified to write a review, though I will give it my best shot.
On a visit to Houston my host made reservations at Uchi. Having dined at the restaurant before, my dining companions said the best way to order would be to let the server decide what to bring. What an experience (sorry, exclamation mark required)!
The food orgy began. I think we had just a little of everything, both hot and cold. We started with Brussels sprouts - outside of dessert, this was the one request we made of the server. For me, these were unexpected at a sushi restaurant, but a completely delicious way to start the meal. From there it was a whirlwind of food, probably 11 or 12 dishes, a couple of cold items and then a hot item, then back to cold. I believe our hot items were duck, pork belly, tuna and wagyu beef - all cooked perfectly. The one item I didn't "get" was the salad, which came near the end of our meal - I didn't love the dressing or the timing. The salad was but a blip on an otherwise perfect meal.
Next was dessert. The three of us couldn't decide on dessert, so we decided to order one-each and share. They were all delicious and inventive - fried milk, lemon sorbet and the dessert of the night, which I believe was chocolate (something mousse-like) with orange. The fried milk was my choice and it did not disappoint. Little crunchy pillows that, when pierced, had a sweet, creamy center. So, so unbelievably good.
Our server was spot-on with her timing and her suggestions. The rest of the staff was on pointe. The décor was warm and inviting (though we did sit under an ac vent, and whenever it fired up it was a bit cold for late November).
Will I go back? Already looking at booking a flight so we can bring my husband along next time. Can't wait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, all the hype about this place sounds right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

First time in Uchi, we waited for an hour (didnt make reservation) but our experience was just great. Started with the edimame and some free samples of their fried cauliflower.. All good!

We tried the 6 course meal, pricy but really delicious. The way the food was presented, how they mixed and matched the ingredients was just brilliant. Its like im a judge in iron chef and being blown away with each time food are brought to us. The service was great and interior of the place is classy.

If you are a foodie, this gotta make it in your list.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The food is delicious!! Make a reservation it's full most of the time, but is worth it, we order a lot of things and everything was great

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“best sushi restaurant in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I kept hearing how great this restaurant was but I hadn't tried it until last week. It was incredible. Tip: First time visitors should try the basic tasting. It gives you a good feel for some of their most popular items. You won't believe the incredible taste of the foods they blend together. You won't even want to use the soy sauce at your table. You need to get a reservation a couple weeks in advance even on week nights though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.