We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting childrens/family theater productions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stages Repertory Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stages Repertory Theatre
3201 Allen Parkway, Suite 101, Houston, TX 77019
713.527.0123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 126 Attractions in Houston
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting childrens/family theater productions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I have not seen any grown up performances here yet but I really enjoyed a childrens production of Panto Mother Goose. Players were very good. Young cast with lots of energy. Productin value was good and I believe music was live too. Very good theatre, nice facility and parking in the lot nearby was free. Enjoyed the interactive show.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality Productions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Have seen two shows there including latest Two Pianos Four Hands. Nice theater, very intimate. Apparently they have two stages, but I've only been to shows in one of the theaters. The theater attracts unique and high quality shows. Give them a try. And yes, parking is available and not difficult.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Two Pianos Four Hands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great theater, no bad seats but in side front row just a couple of feet from actors. This was very entertaining, great actors but true concert pianist, what a combination!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just spent a great afternoon seeing one of their productions, 4 Hands, 2 Pianos. The theatre is small with seating on three sides of the stage or performance area. Honestly don't know if they have a "bad" seat in the house. Everything here seems to be well done, the prices at the concession are quite reasonable and they have parking just across the street.

If they have any "issues" it is the air conditioning system. When I bought tickets, the lovely lady said that we may want to consider bring a jacket or wrap to the performance because some people find the theatre a little cold. Fair enough! Thank for the heads up. After arrival, we determined what she should have said is the space is SO cold we keep penguins here between performances. I have NO IDEA what the problem is but they obviously know about if they are warning guests to bring jackets. It is seriously COLD!!

That said, we still had a great time and would recommend Stages to anyone interested in live theatre. Just bring a jacket. Or parka.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stages R, Marketing Director at Stages Repertory Theatre, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review - we're so glad you enjoyed '2 Pianos 4 Hands', and it sounds like you had a good experience aside from the temperature issue! That is indeed a challenge in our older facility - we do our best to make audiences comfortable but unfortunately our climate control system isn't always sophisticated enough to meet everyone's individual needs all at once. We do, in fact, embrace your suggestion of layers and recommend that strategy to all our visitors so that you have a little more control over your own comfort. For some that means a light wrap, and for others (myself included!) a heavy jacket is the way to go. Again, we're so glad you enjoyed to visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Life Could Be A Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you love 50s and 60s music, this is the show to see. They were 22 songs and 5 singers. They were all very good. The theater is very intimate, and I don't think there is a bad seat. Long line for the women's during intermission, like always! Reasonable prices on canned soda ($2) and snacks ($1). Parking is across the street and is only $2. Going to be there until October!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stages Repertory Theatre also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stages Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stages Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.