We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argentina Cafe

Argentina Cafe
3055 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6303
713-622-8877
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 6,953 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Argentinean
Restaurant details
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I did not bother looking at the menu: I asked the older gentleman working the counter that I was in the mood for Argentinian food (including wine) and asked him to pick something out for me. He was all too happy to make recommendations and I enjoyed a great meal.

I just wish the restaurant was open later than 9pm.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches LA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good little neighborhood cafe with interesting foods and wines. Prices good for area (few blocks from Galleria), staff friendly and helpful with explaining dishes. Not very interesting storefront atmosphere with bad acoustics, but food and service make up for it. Odd set up in that you initially order at counter, but everything else is table service.

With a couple of glasses of good house wines, empenadas for appetizers, a couple of medium prices entrees and two desserts, expect to spend about $50.

Highly recommend for a casual breakfast, lunch or early dinner (they close at 9:00 p.m.).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alfajores and more !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Tiny place on Sage road, just off of Galleria. Parking is tight in this strip. Very good food, good selection of wines and a very very charming young owner !! This place is dulce de leche heaven with the alfajores and other little sweet bites. Good entrees too; lot of egg entrees if you like breakfast at any time of the day. Very very low priced for the area; wonder how he makes the rent. We ate a gazillion of things and barely split the check under $20 each.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little coffee shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good Argentinian food, friendly service (you pay at the counter and they bring it to your table), Spanish and English language magazines. Good coffee, empanadas and salads.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Argentine and Chilean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Staff is Argentine and Chilean. Having been to and eaten in both countries this food is as close to Chilean as I've seen in North American.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argentina Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Argentina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argentina Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.