We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baby Barnaby's

Baby Barnaby's
602 Fairview, Houston, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: there are 2-3 locations for Barnaby's Cafe, the main one is on West Gray St., however there are 2 locations on Fairview - one serves lunch (Barnaby's) and the other serves breakfast (Baby Barnaby's)
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Breakfast worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

When you arrive at Baby Barnaby's you will place your name on the list and wait to be called. Depending on the time you arrive, you may have to wait a bit. The complimentary coffee while you wait is a great amenity.

Once you get into the "Barbie Dream Camper" dining room, the true experience begins. The staff is awesome. Friendly service and great breakfast options. Favorites include the Breakfast Plate and Megas. The honey buttered biscuits are always the bread of choice.

Make sure you start or finish with a glass of the fresh squeezed orange juice. The oranges they pick are the sweetest in Texas.

If you live in Houston, head down to Montrose and experience Baby Barnaby's. If you are visiting Houston, it is worth the drive/cab ride for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a group of 6 because of great reviews we read online. Baby Barnaby's did not disappoint.

We had the Green Eggs (no Ham!). Its not as bad as one would think given the Dr Suess imaging that pops up. (Actually, its very good!) The eggs (yellow) are scrambled with spinach and artichokes mixed in, hence the green in the title.

Service is great. On Labor Day weekend we needed to wait 1/2 hour to clear the waiting list. We sat outside, but next time may indicate a preference to sit inside as the Texas heat can be a bit much. While you wait, they have the coffee pots and mugs in the waiting area so you can get a start on your caffeine fix.

We will go back when in Houston again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, nice attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After arriving in Houston from NY at an on godly hour, we were hungry. We searched for places, and fond Barnabys. It was humid as we waited for a table, and while others waited for an indoor table, we were happy to take anything. The ambiance is not exciting outside, but the feel of it is great. The food was quite good, and our waiter was quite accommodating. I shared with him I had never had grits, and he brought me over a nice sized sample. Overall, great experience, great service, and good time. Only negative was that it was a little pricey, especially for breakfast in Houston! Outside of that, it was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Conversation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located just east of downtown is a great little restaurant called Baby Barnaby's. It is a cozy place where the locals go for a great breakfast and to be served by a staff that is genuinely glad you chose their establishment for your first meal of the day. The food is very good and the portions are generous. The orange juice is fresh squeezed on the spot and the coffee is always hot and fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unique and high quality! Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My son and his sweetheart took us here...unexpected location and unsurpassed quality. The locals seemed to know the place well.... And that's the secret.... Great, unique, special menu with a special Houston flare. Loved it and highly recommend you find this quaint place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Barnaby's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baby Barnaby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baby Barnaby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.