We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 455 Hotels in Houston
1 review
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

One of the best hotels that i've been to! What is that bed?! Amazing! Good breakfast, great lobby bar and good gym. Laudry service wasn't the best, my clothes smelled funny after being washed. Overall great hotel! I'd definetelly come back! Special thanks to Amina at the front desk and also to the concierge service!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    74
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
38
4
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No relevant complaints at this hotel. The room was excellent, the overall service was good and I liked it very much. No doubt next time in Houston I will repeat. I used hotel lavandry, service and a the car service (very helpfull if you don't move by car when travelling to Houston)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Miguel000,

I would like to take the time out to personally thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback about our hotel as this is greatly appreciated. I am so overjoyed to hear that you were able to enjoy our rooms and superb hospitality. This is wonderful news that you will be returning and we cannot wait to welcome you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was the small things that made this hotel stand out for me like the keyless room entry and the floor lights that kicked on if the room was dark and your feet hit the floor. The hotel is located within walking distance of good food and shopping. This offset the only negative for me about the hotel, the prices. The restaurant, bar and snack bar were all significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ChrisWhittenhall,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to leave your much valued feedback about our hotel. I am ecstatic to hear that you were able to enjoy the small customizations made specifically for our guests. We really worked hard to make sure that each and every one of you would enjoy our spectacular renovation. I am also excited to hear that you were able to enjoy our location and found it to be accommodating. We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. The décor is very modern, with clean lines and gray tones throughout. The hotel always had a fresh linen smell, and the rooms were well appointed with a desk, minibar, fridge, safe, and chaise lounge, along with the regular furniture. I loved the view straight on to the Galleria. Not much during the day, but at night this time of year is lit up with Christmas lights along the main Post Oak drag.

The location is phenomenal, literally minutes from the Galleria, Highland Village, and even less than 10 minutes from Rice Village or Upper Kirby areas. The shopping and dining options are endless. Also a quick drive to downtown locations, which was nice as we stayed here the evening of a show at The Hobby Center.

The guy at the front desk was not overly friendly, but professional. The valet attendants on both days were the best. Quick and friendly, and ready to help with directions if needed. Happy to tip them extra as they were hustling even in the wet and cold weather. High compliments to them!!!!!

Great stay, and a bargain on the discount sites. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with two beds are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Susie M,

We as a Hotel would like to personally take the time to say thank you for leaving such a great review about our hotel as this is tremendously appreciated. I am overjoyed that you were able to experience our newly renovated hotel as we worked really hard to make sure each and every one of our guests would be completely satisfied. The location works out for everyone because there is so much to do from touring to shopping and dining. It was such a pleasure to have you here and we really hope to have the chance for you to visit us in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first stay at this hotel and it was very good. It is new and modern with a good restaurant and workout facilities. The location is in the heart of the Galleria and it was reasonably priced vs other comparable hotels. The only knock is that the beds are a little soft for my liking. The service was very good.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Pete07046,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to leave such great feedback about our hotel. We appreciate you noticing our newly renovated hotel as we put a lot of hard work into it to make sure each and every one of our guests are completely satisfied. It was our pleasure having you here and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is top-notch, great service, beautiful rooms; however, the incompetent valet service lowers the overall value of the hotel. Having to wait 20+ minutes after calling down for the car to be brought around while the valets are standing idle outside is simply poor service or poor communication. Paying for this adds insult to injury.....

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lynne R......thank you for the time taken and please accept my apologies for waiting for your valet car to be brought up.We have started with a new service, and continually evaluate them on a daily basis. Your comments will be shared with them, as we know parking is a major componenet in our array of full service offerings.
Please come back to us again soon, and we will compliment your parking next time

Warm regards,

Jeff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the hotel and their service, and its near everything. there's a big mall not far from the hotel, and the hotell also is next to the highway, but there are some traffic in the area sometimes. i would recommend for families, couples, friends, and everyone.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for reconfirming our great central location. As you mentioned, we truly are in the center of high end shopping, restaurants, offices buildings and residential.
Spread the word and come back soon,
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Address: 2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#26 Business Hotel in Houston
#41 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to one of the world's great urban centers, Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston is just a block from the 464, the Houston Galleria and minutes from the Museum District, the Theatre District and historic Hermann Park. Preferred for both business and pleasure travel, the hotel blends cosmopolitan style with decidedly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.