We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 451 hotels in Houston
Carrollton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is downtown and solves the parking problem with it's own gated parking garage with an attendant. I negotiated the rate to only $99.00/ night with complimentary parking! Very nice lobby with a quick and friendly check in. The included WIFI was a bit slow but adequate for my needs. If faster speeds are needed upgrades are available for a fee. The bed was very comfortable and room had it's own thermostat to control the temp. Small fridge and safe are in the room. My wife liked some of the "extra touches" like the nice liquid soap, shampoo & conditioner dispensers attached to the inside wall of the shower instead of a little soap bar and tiny bottles of shampoo most places have. She pointed out high end lotions on the bathroom counter, nice big towels and bath robes hanging in the closet. The room was very clean and had a Kurig coffee maker with coffee for the morning. A nice feature that was different is one of the night stands had a motion activated light at it's base (floor level) so if you get up at night to use the restroom the light shined along the floor so you could see without disturbing your spouse.
There were three negatives of which the first two didn't affect us. The desk phone didn't work. The bathroom phone didn't work. Not a problem for us because the phone next to the bed did work and our cell phones worked. The third could have been a "disaster". My wife noticed immediately that the toilet paper roll was almost empty and there was no backup! Thankfully a call to housekeeping solved that problem in minutes. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    51
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
27
3
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We hadn't stayed in many hotels in Houston as we lived there for twenty years and didn't need lodging. As we returned for a brief visit on business I picked a hotel based on location, price, and appearance based on web site pictures. We were not there very long, but it was a great find, with friendly service, modern accommodations, great views of the downtown or Galleria skyline, and a great pool. The parking garage was roomy and close. The reception area was interesting and efficient. The bar seemed to be popular. Our room was wonderful and well maintained. I wish I had longer to explore the hotel, but we had to leave the next morning. It was convenient to everything; the Galleria, the Medical Center, Downtown, major highways. The price was exceptional and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Either direction is good. Ask for Galleria if you want that, but we wanted downtown. Upper floors ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mark P,

Thank you so much for leaving your much valued feedback about our hotel as we use this as a tool to help us learn and grow. I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy not only our hospitality and accommodations, but our amenities and public spaces as well. we truly worked hard during our recent renovation and it is beyond satisfying to know that our guests are enjoying it. Thank you again for your amazing critique and we cannot wait to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We hosted our wedding anniversary party at Royal Sonesta and everything was perfect. The room and hotel was modern, the food was outstanding and the staff was excelent! We highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were lovely as well - comfy and large beds!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AshleyG888,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to leave such amazing comments about out Hotel. I am so appreciative that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us here at The Royal Sonesta, it was our pleasure to have you here. We're beyond thrilled that you were able to enjoy your significant moment and Congratulations from the Royal Sonesta Family! We cannot wait to have you stay with us again and will be anxiously awaiting to welcome you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at the Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston was very polite and courteous. The room's were clean and spacious with new amenities. The hotel restaurant is called Ara. The food and service were great! Special recognition to Elizabeth and Irene on the wait staff for my dining experience was a pleasurable one. I will stay here whenever I am in Houston. Would have preferred a larger pool area.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side have a nice view of downtown Houston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Gray H,

Thank you so much for leaving such great feedback about our hotel, we greatly appreciate your evaluation. I am beyond thrilled that you were able to experience our marvelous staff as they really enjoy what they do. It is so wonderful to hear your thoughts on our Restaurant being that we put so much hard work and effort into it to make sure each and every one of our guests would be able to enjoy not only ARA, but our fantastic food as well. Elizabeth and Irene are two of our best employees and it was their pleasure to serve you. We anxiously await your next stay with us here at The Royal Sonesta.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had never heard of Royal Sonesta hotels so we were teasing the person who made the reservation. Boy did we eat our words. This hotel was beautiful. It was super clean, the rooms were spacious, and the beds were comfy. We had the breakfast buffet the next morning and it was delicious. This hotel was a bargain for the service and amenities for the price

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Shari G,

I would like to take the time out to thank you for leaving such a great review as it is much appreciated. I am thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy our wonderful amenities, we put a lot of hard work and effort into our renovation to make sure each and every one of our guests would be able to enjoy themselves here at the Royal Sonesta. We really hope we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed one weekend and enjoyed everything until we showed up for Breakfast on the way out, Sunday morning. We do not eat at buffets, so we ordered breakfast. The Eggs Benedict were terrible. The waitress returned them to the kitchen and the second version was worse than the first. But on top of this, I never received my 2-eggs over-medium! The waitress said a large group at another table was running her ragged and she probably forgot!!! Had to settle for coffee and bread for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the time taken to critique our breakfast service in our ARA restaurant. Your response will be read at staff, in an effort to use yoru comments as a teachable moment. Please conside returning to us in the near future. I would like to upgrade you to our concierge level, and compliment your breakfast in our ARA restaurant. If you woiuld send an email directly to me, I will personally make your reservation.

Apologetically,
Jeff
jfuller@sonesta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreacres
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta as they had a special, so we did an over-night stay-cation (we live in the area). The hotel and room are beautiful, the staff are very polite and efficient. The breakfast was very nice as well with fresh fruit, omlets, etc. My only complaint would be the pool area. The pool was apparently an after-thought in building the hotel. It is small and the hot tub jets were not working. The area around the pool is just concrete with three flower pots with nearly dead palms in them - not very appealing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Shari G,

I would like to first start off by thanking you for leaving your much valued feedback about our hotel, it is much appreciated. I am grateful that you were able to enjoy our superb hospitality and our delicious breakfast choices. I apologize that you weren’t able to enjoy our pool area, but please be reassured that every comment is taken into consideration to make sure that we have the best accommodations for our guests. We are always striving to make sure that each and every one of you is completely satisfied when leaving The Royal Sonesta. We really hope that you will have another Stay-Cation with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Address: 2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#29 Business Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to one of the world's great urban centers, Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston is just a block from the 464, the Houston Galleria and minutes from the Museum District, the Theatre District and historic Hermann Park. Preferred for both business and pleasure travel, the hotel blends cosmopolitan style with decidedly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.