We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family stay near the Galleria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #26 of 451 hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Perfect family stay near the Galleria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was our families first stay at the Royal Sonesta during our recent visit to Houston. It is perfectly located right near the Galleria (check out our pictures). The hotel is simply elegant and perfect for a relaxing weekend and some shopping. I would say this hotel is definitely a good choice for the business traveler with its business center and it sits next door to major businesses. We had lunch at Launch Lounge and the staff was so friendly and accommodating.

We even made some new friends in the lobby area. The kids felt at home and comfortable. It was just a beautiful and amazing experience. And the view from the 10th floor gives you a birds eye view of most places you may want to visit in the area.

Room Tip: Great view of the area from the higher floors. We were on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    36
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
20
3
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I make it a point to stay in this hotel every time I travel to Houston, TX. It's relaxing and the location is right in the middle of all the perfect places to eat and shop. Customer service was excellent. Jennifer S. in reservation did an awesome job at answering all of my questions and concerns. If you're looking for a place that makes you feel at home then this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall well - suited and situated for a trade conference in Houston. Professional, well-informed staff; easy check-in and check-out; rooms are well appointed; and location is very easily accessible from both airports. Plenty of great restaurants within a close drive. The only real downside is that, like most properties in Houston, a car or taxi is absolutely required.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a beautiful, fancy hotel near the Galleria. From the moment we drove up, we were greeted by warm, genuine, smiling faces. So despite being an upscale establishment, everyone made you feel welcome. This is not our first stay at the Royal Sonesta, nor will it be our last!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rblcastillo,

I would like to thank you for leaving such terrific feedback about our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. Our team really makes an effort for our guests to feel like they’re at home away from home. Everyone is valued here at the Royal Sonesta and we love interacting with each and every one of you. We cannot wait for your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our family recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta, Houston. We couldn't have been more impressed! From the moment we stepped into the super elegant front doors to the fun we had swimming on the rooftop! The Royal Sonesta has everything for the business traveler, honeymooner, or family with children! The chandelier that runs the entire length of the entry way lets you know, right away, that you are in for a treat. The staff were very friendly and eager to help us get settled. It is not often that we can find a hotel that is elegant, yet caters to families with children. We were very comfortable allowing our children to be, well, children. The lobby is modern, beautiful, and full of room for our family to enjoy a late night of visiting. The location is PERFECT as it is just around the corner from the Galleria and tons of fun activities!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rachel M,

We as a team would like to personally thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of our hotel as we really put a great deal of hard work into our recent renovations for guests such as yourself. We have such an amazing location that surrounds us with activities for not only adults, but our children as well. We cannot wait to welcome you with open arms on your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a three night stay with them and from the time we went through the front door until we left everyone was very warm and friendly it is a great place to stay we had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night our waiter Marty was very helpful we had the 16 oz ribeye steak and it was well worth the money BEST steak we have ever had if you are in Houston you should try this place out

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rose M,

I would like to thank you for leaving such kind words about our hotel as it is greatly appreciated. Our food is fantastic and I’m thrilled that you were able to enjoy it. Marty is such a great asset to our team and one of our best employees. We really hope to have another chance to meet with you again.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Houston and so happy I booked this hotel. It's so pretty and the rooms are not large, but comfortable, clean, newly and beautifully furnished.
We had a problem with the bathroom A/C leaking as soon as we checked in, but they were so helpful and moved us to a new room within maybe 40 minutes. Staff is curteous and efficient. Was a little confusing finding it because we missed the turn from the expressway and the road in front is 1 way and very busy, so we had to loop and wasted another 15 minutes between looping and traffic. So definitely be careful when trying to get there with your GPS. There's also a CVS about a 5 to 10 minute walk (I needed Abreva for a cold sore!) so that was convenient. There are also shops nearby if you need to do shopping (higher end shops).
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LukjaNYC,

We as a hotel would like to take the time out to personally thank you for such great feedback, it is much appreciated. We recently renovated, and I’m thrilled that you were able to experience our comfortable rooms. We have an amazing staff that loves what they do, not to mention our purpose is to add value to the lives of the people with whom we interact and it seems to me that we were able to do so during your stay with us. I truly hope we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jeff Fuller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston

Address: 2222 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#23 Family Hotel in Houston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the gateway to one of the world's great urban centers, Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston is just a block from the 464, the Houston Galleria and minutes from the Museum District, the Theatre District and historic Hermann Park. Preferred for both business and pleasure travel, the hotel blends cosmopolitan style with decidedly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.