We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than lunch at GRB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House

The Lake House
1600 McKinney, Houston, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,268 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Herndon VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than lunch at GRB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hamburgers are cooked to order and good tasting. The price and quality are much better than most of the lunch choices inside the GRB convention center a short walk away. Very casual with nice views of Discovery Green from inside and the covered outside seating. As noted, the refills cost a dollar but one soda was enough for me. The staff was friendly and helpful. Burger, fries and soda was $7.25+tax. They also have chicken sandwiches, tacos and hot dogs. This is a better choice for a quick, inexpensive lunch than the Grove next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“School cafeteria food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had lunch here and was not impressed with the food. The sweet potato fries were good but the burger was sub par. Brought back memories of the cafereria in my school days, cold and no flavor. Then were I left I asked for a refil and the owner, or at least she looked the part, told me it was a dollar for a 12 ounce refill. Go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a little snack bar in Discovery Green. It was the closest food I could find to the convention center. The cheese fries are good, a little salty though, so if that is not your thing, this is not the dish for you. They also serve tacos which were pretty good for the price, if only a little small. You can sit outside and watch people kayak or you can watch the kids splash around in the sprinklers. This is a nice shady spot for people watching. Good food, good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Cross, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon lunch with my son”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

At the convention center across the street for some meetings and decided to bring my son over for some lunch. We sat out on the patio and watched the fish in the water and the kids in the water park nearby. Was an enjoyable time to get away from the meetings. Reasonably priced food and tasted good too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's a snack bar - the pond is enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There are limited snacks similar to what you may find at a snack stand at the zoo. Sitting by the pond is very nice. They have remote controlled boats you can pay to race or just sail in one area and in separate area you can rent a canoe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.