We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrel Urban Bistro

Sorrel Urban Bistro
2202 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77098 (Greenway/ Upper Kirby)
+1 713-677-0391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrel Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 7,278 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Healthy, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Cross street: Kirby, Greenbriar
Description: Born out of a shared vision to bring affordable farm-to-table dining to Houston, restaurateur Ray Salti and Executive Chef Soren Pedersen have collaborated to create Sorrel Urban Bistro, a casually elegant, fresh design featuring an ever-changing blackboard menu of organically focused cuisine. Sorrel represents the second culinary collaboration between Salti and Pedersen, who also are partners at Ray’s Grill, a highly-lauded farm-to-table concept in Fulshear, TX, 20 miles West of Houston. In addition to a diverse daily menu selection featuring local organically grown produce and meat, sustainable fish and wild game, Sorrel offers a charcuterie bar with a wide variety of salami, sausages and prosciutto, both imported and housemade, along with artisan Texas cheeses, handcrafted breads and more. Beverage service includes seasonally inspired cocktails, artisanal beers and 200 plus wines (25 percent organic.) At Sorrel, it's about enjoying a culinary experience.
houston texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not that Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went there for luch with a group. It was 130pm so the crowd had gone but the service was very slow . Maybe they were tired . We were a group of 8 but the drinks took a long time - and then some thought they had been given the wrong grape.The food though was pretty good. I had the peper soup which was very good followed by the roast chic keg which was ok- should have had the steak which look ed good.

All in all not bad but not as great as I have heard. Maybe I should try in the evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I had seen the listing in trip advisor and passed the restaurant on the way home this evening. I tend to like to eat light in the evening and was thinking an appetizer +\- a salad. On reviewing the menu, on the back is a multi course meal which would have been way too much but one of the courses caught my eye. It was sweetbreads with a fig glaze. I have not had the opportunity to eat sweetbreads in years so I ask my waiter if I could just get that course and a salad for dinner. There was not even a hesitation, and the answer was of course. The salad w lovely and the sweetbreads came presented on a layer of sweet potato mash with the fig sauce over the top....not too much or too little and very nicely done. I is a bit pricey but not out of range for the service and the care of preparation along with the creative menu.
I will come back....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“SPUR OF THE MOMENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Browsing Tripadvisor for something new...had excellent reviews and away we go.I had the filet with cauliflower mash and a side of brussel sprouts.Brussel sprouts were tender with a good ol southern seasoning.Filet was very tender and the cauliflower gave it something extra.Wife had the blackened fish with black beans seasoned well and quite tasty.......Bread and sauces were excellent. Service was great.......Oh,crispy pork belly appetizer was just as good as everything else................Not to loud

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The scallops are divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an excellent meal at Sorrell Urban Bistro. The fish I had was wonderful but the scallops were just outstanding. Huge and perfectly prepared. Nice wine list and attentive staff. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth Every Dime, er, Dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Several friends gave me a list of their favorite new places to eat (Oxheart and Sorrel making all lists). Four of us tried it on a Saturday night (we booked ahead). All of us eat out a lot (two of the four are lawyers). We all agreed the food was quite good. Particular mention has to be made of the tomato soup. This is one of the most memorable dishes I have had in some time. All the mains were excellent, including my pork chop. Service was prompt, friendly, and efficient. Although the prices were not cheap, I found the value to be pretty good. That soup can cure a lot of ills!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrel Urban Bistro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sorrel Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrel Urban Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.