We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrel Urban Bistro

Sorrel Urban Bistro
2202 West Alabama Street, Houston, TX 77098 (Downtown)
713-677-0391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrel Urban Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 7,227 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Healthy, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Kirby, Greenbriar
Description: Born out of a shared vision to bring affordable farm-to-table dining to Houston, restaurateur Ray Salti and Executive Chef Soren Pedersen have collaborated to create Sorrel Urban Bistro, a casually elegant, fresh design featuring an ever-changing blackboard menu of organically focused cuisine. Sorrel represents the second culinary collaboration between Salti and Pedersen, who also are partners at Ray’s Grill, a highly-lauded farm-to-table concept in Fulshear, TX, 20 miles West of Houston. In addition to a diverse daily menu selection featuring local organically grown produce and meat, sustainable fish and wild game, Sorrel offers a charcuterie bar with a wide variety of salami, sausages and prosciutto, both imported and housemade, along with artisan Texas cheeses, handcrafted breads and more. Beverage service includes seasonally inspired cocktails, artisanal beers and 200 plus wines (25 percent organic.) At Sorrel, it's about enjoying a culinary experience.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

great healthy food. Excellent for business lunches. I liked the salad and the Salmon. I like the idea of healthy organic food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place knows how to do it right. Great menu, wonderful and fairly priced wine list run by real professionals. A delight to dine here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to meet an old friend for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I met an old friend for brunch and we both ate very simply. One entree each and shared the bread pudding with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I ordered the chicken pot pie and I can honestly say I have never had so many wonderful tastes bursting through a chicken pot pie. At first, when we were served I thought this would not be enough, but it was and we had the most wonderful server named Wes S. Thanks, Wes!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glad we tried it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went on a Saturday late afternoon, before the dinner rush and it was perfect.... From the service to the innovative cocktails and of course the food! You must try the mussels in curry with golden raisins.... Divine ! Will definitely be our first stop on our next trip to Houston .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful place to chill and relax after a long day. Yummy drinks. The crowd was friendly and yound (late 20's to mid 30's year olds) Lot of business professional.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrel Urban Bistro also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sorrel Urban Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrel Urban Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.