We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique boutique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Derek Houston Galleria to your Saves list
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #124 of 468 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fullerton, California
1 review
“Unique boutique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great staff, great room, great bed, great food. Highly recommended for a boutique experience. I had not stayed in Houston, outside of downtown, in quite awhile. I saw the Groupon and, since I was going to be in town, made the purchase. Not a mistake! There wasn't anything bad about this. Definitely will be back to stay when in Houston and not on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We loved reading your feedback, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Derek. Galleria is a fabulous place to be when you are in H-town; there is absolutely no shortage of great entertainment in the Galleria area.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    141
    72
    38
    31
See reviews for
45
107
22
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Derek for a business trip. Although I asked for a quiet room, I was facing a back yard with a very noisy engine continuous back sound. My bed sheet were old and had many stains. The hotel service is fair. Not a preferred choice for Galleria Area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback on your recent stay with us. We always strive to be the best for all our guests, however it seems we stumbled during your stay. Please accept our apology. Please contact me directly next time your travel brings you back to town, we would love to roll a red carpet to wow you.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

First time staying at Hotel Derek for the Patriots/Texans game. We arrived Saturday afternoon and had an easy time checking in & our room was clean, modern, and welcoming. We sat and had drinks at the bar before heading out for dinner. The next morning, I checked out the gym to get a quick workout in then we utilized the football package and indulged in the breakfast buffet which was quite tasty. We also picked up our complementary snacks & pre-game drink at the bar. The transportation to the game was wonderful, the driver was knowledgeable and friendly! All in all, a great weekend package for any football fan.

Pros: Location was easy to find, modern, trendy, reasonable prices
Cons: Elevator needs room key to get to floors, not a lot of seating for breakfast, gym is small, self-parking spaces are tight

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Go Texans! So glad you enjoyed our Football Kick-Off Package. We also appreciate your feedback in regards to the items you feel could be improved upon – thank you. The exclusive floor access via our elevators is a measure that we recently invested in to ensure our guests security and privacy goes un-breached. Look forward to having you back again soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Groupon. It seemed like a good deal, and we liked the location. The only thing that makes this hotel rise to an average score is the staff. They are friendly and helpful and deserve recognition. The bar was great, and we enjoyed watching game highlights and sipping really good drinks. The staff here was also exceptional. However, this place is really just a dressed up cardboard box. When other reviewers say the walls are thin, believe them. If you are going to stay here, earplugs are an absolute necessity. You will hear every door on your floor slam, every toilet flush, and every TV that is on. All that is assuming the other guests are well-behaved. Unfortunately, this place seems to attract some creepers. If you choose to stay for breakfast, please skip the buffet (so nasty)and ask for a menu. It may take a while, so bring patience. This seems to be the only area of the hotel that service is slooooow. Still friendly, but very slow. The other thing to note is that the chauffeur service really is limited to a 3 mile radius. If they plug your location into Google maps, and it says 3.1 miles, you're on your own. All in all, I'm sad to rate so low. Really, the only thing that needs major attention is the construction of the place, but that's the one thing you just can't fix. We'll go back to staying at the Magnolia when we're in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. Hotel Derek is located in a very hip part of H-town, and as such, we are a popular gathering spot to celebrate with family and friends, shop and enjoy the cities sports and entertainment attractions. We pride ourselves in creating a cool, lively vibe that people will enjoy, although not to the determent of someone coming for a quiet escape. We do hope that you’ll return to enjoy some additional enhancements and services that are coming soon – completion to Splash Pool and a new movie wall, plus the Sweat Gym and techie amped business center.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very good hotel. Clean. Very well located near the Galleria in Houston. Easy to be found. Not much choices for TV programs.
Shower gels and shampoos are not added on a regular basis.
Room clean and staff really nice. They gave me all the information to find some shops for babies, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have always loved staying at Hotel Derek when I go on shopping trips at the Galleria. The hotel is always clean and the staff is nice and helpful. The walls are very thin, so you can hear even the lightest steps going down the hallway and the quietest conversation in the room next to you. The decor is very trendy and modern. The bar downstairs is nice and you cant beat the location, especially for a shopping trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Jessica, thank you for staying with us at Hotel Derek during your last shopping trip to Houston’s Galleria. Be sure to check out our “All Wrapped Up Package” that we are currently offering, it is a fun holiday package with lots of great extras! Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for the location and we heard it was nice plus they were offering a Groupon. The hotel is nicely updated and the staff is friendly from the valet to the restaurant. The rooms are nice and roomy the bathroom is just ok, the showers really need to be redone, I'm not sure why they choose not to make this once change in the rooms. The shower is old and I would not want to take a bath in the tub.

The food is great and the drinks are good (little pricey). We stayed a Saturday evening and the bar was really quiet except for the wedding party that was there from the wedding reception that was going on.

Valet is 16.00 and breakfast was 45.00 for 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Address: 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.