We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Derek Houston Galleria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Derek Houston Galleria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 451 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersSilver level
philadelphia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was in Houston for a conference. I typically stay at Marriott branded hotels so a review outside of the brand is kinda rare for me. I will say that I did enjoy my stay and was impressed with the property. The property is undergoing a renovation and as such the fitness facility was unavailable. In light of this the hotel does provide the ability to work out at a local fitness center, but I wasn’t able to take them up on this. Adjacent to the lobby was a nice restaurant which serves as a great spot to grab a drink after a long day.

The rooms were a little larger than average and have a modern feel. The water pressure was fantastic. The downside for me inability to open the windows in the room, which I really enjoy.

The service was also very good and the front desk extremely helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    100
    52
    26
    23
See reviews for
25
73
19
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had the misfortune of staying at The Derek during the early portion of All star week. We left the hotel after breakfast for the day at around 9 am to see some sites and do some shopping, upon return at 3pm our room still had not been serviced. My wife called to inquire as to why the room was not serviced and was given nothing but attitude from the front desk agent saying, "Housekeeping has a whole hotel to clean and that we need to be patient". However, on the day we were to depart housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:30 am to see if we had left yet. Unprecedented for me as a avid business traveler. Would never stay here again nor would I suggest it to a stranger on the street.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time or money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had a terrible experience this weekend at the Hotel Derek. As the host hotel for the retired nba players association one would assume that the hotel would be fully staffed however it was not. The service in the restaurant was terrible they were extremely slow, they stopped serving food at 11 pm on Friday and Saturday night and the bar closed at 12. On Saturday night I waited over an hour for a pizza. When preparing to check out on Sunday I sent a text message to receive my car only to be texted back 30 minutes later that no attendants were available. We called to get our bags taken down however after 30 minutes took all 6 bags down by ourselves. We attend retired NBA functions twice a year and have never had an experience we had at the Hotel Derek this weekend. Not a hotel that I would recommend again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Hotel Derek, located on Westheimer Road on the opposite side of the busy West Loop from the famous Houston Galleria, is good choice for convenient, comfortable accommodations when staying in the Houston Galleria area. There are probably 20-30 excellent restaurants within a 15 minute walk of the hotel and another 50 within a 15 minute drive. The hotel was once the trendy place to stay for celebrities but its rooms, while comfortable, are starting to look a little worn and dates. This isn't uncommon with hotels that use deco-modern decor. Staff is friendly, if not always efficient. The restaurant doesn't seem to get a lot of business, probably due to the abundance of great restaurants nearby. Also, in/out valet service will run $25/night (plus any tip) and watch out for exhorbitant mini-bar prices.... bring your own bottled water! The room rates vary wildly...from $139 to well over $500 night, which mostly seems dependent on the occupancy expectation for the night/week.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have Galleria skyline views. Rooms on the back often overlook a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for commenting on Hotel Derek’s convenient location; there is absolutely no shortage of great restaurants in the Galleria area. We are also glad that you found our staff to be helpful, it is always our intention to exceed your expectations! Be sure to visit us after March and you’ll discover our renovations in all rooms and lobby area - we think you'll find the touch points stylish, luxurious and up-to-date.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Hotel only offers valet parking and for the price the hotel decor and ammenities seem out of date. The bar is nice and there seem to be a good crowd still hovering around but Id rather stay somewhere down the street for less money (like other hotels that consider themselves "fancy" everything beyond your basic room rate costs extra). Not good for business travellers.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, dont expect to be blown away by anything other than the price tag. Good lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments above from your visit with us. You will be thrilled to know that we are almost done with our room/lobby renovation and we will be working on some cool amenities next. Be sure to contract me directly next time, we would love you give you the “fancy” experience that you deserve.

Live Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything was great during our stay. Everyone we encountered there was polite and professional. We stayed on the sky floor and had a huge room that was exceptionally clean and had a great view of the city. Valet was always quick in retrieving our car. One thing worth mentioning was that the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel restaurant. We will definitely return to Hotel Derek during our next trip to Houston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hotel Derek's skyview rooms are pretty stunning - thank you for your fabulous review! We love that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Murphys Law: Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong...This was my experience at Hotel Derek. My 2 girlfriends and I decided to do a trip to Houston and stayed here, we had a car - if you don't, this is probably not where you want to be, nothing is within walking distance. The first night at 3 am our fire alarm in the room started going off, and after complaining we found out that the hotel does not have maintenance in-house at nights. which seems a bit absurd. So they offered to move us to another room for a night at 330 am. The room that we are now standing in smells of puke! So once again we speak with the hotel and have them take us out of there as quick as possible, and end up in the room right below our original room, where we can still hear the fire alarm going off. By this point (430 am) we were completely exhausted and decided to call it a night in the less noisy room, and fight it out the next day. The next day we moved back to our original room - minus the alarm sound, and come evening our toilet gets clogged... haha... oh and every time you take a shower the bathtub would fill up. Oh and the lighting in the rooms could not be worse. try putting on make up ! On a good note the staff tried to be accommodating, which was nice... but the hotel was not up to standards.

To top it all off we realized the hotel bar closes at 11 pm on a Friday night ! now THAT was a deal breaker !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn G, General Manager at Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
@ZeniaKiss, thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We hate that your experience this past weekend did not go the way it should. Will you please contact me directly so we can arrange a return that will wow you and your girlfriends?

Live well,
Shawn Gracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Derek Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derek Houston Galleria

Address: 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Houston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#105 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derek Houston Galleria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A NEW KIND OF SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY - ONE WHERE UNPARALLELED SERVICE AND DESIGNER AMENITIES ALLOW YOU TO APPRECIATE BEING IN THE MOMENT AND IN THE LOOP. Named for Houston's black gold roots, a play on the "derrick" drilling rig, Hotel Derek's bold styled guestrooms and suites are overflowing with modern details and stylish comforts inspired by fashionably chic Texas decor. Photography by world-renowned Arthur Meyerson adorns our public areas and guestrooms, capturing the spirit of Texas wildcatters; while everything from our black granite lobby floors to bold textiles and colors pays homage to our city's rich heritage in the oil industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Derek Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derek Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Derek Houston Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.