We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 2 or 3 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #116 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's a 2 or 3 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The location is excelent, but I was not impressed with the quality of the hotel. I would not stay here again if is left up to me. The breakfast was okay in the morning, but the room is below par in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear truballer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by the quality of our property. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    77
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
22
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

At first, I was hesitant to book a room but had to stay here because of a Convention at the George R. Brown Convention Center. But I must admit, for the price at which this hotel is available, the hotel is fantastic. I was amazed as I have not seen any other Holiday Inn hotel as good as this. Rooms very clean, Service was great and the staff very friendly and helpful. They have a huge parking. Its really a good and clean Hotel. I would definitely stay there again if I visit Houston for any Exhibition or Convention.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I got this hotel on Hotwire for an excellent price. The hotel is fairly hidden and somewhat hard to find, but it has easy access to the highway and I never had a problem with traffic.
Rooms are spacious with a mini fridge, microwave, and 2 free bottles of water. Bathrooms have shampoo, conditioner, lotion, nail files, cotton balls, etc. They even had makeup remover wipes for women, which I really appreciated.
I didn't have any trouble with the free wifi. Check in was a breeze and they let me in my room 3 hours early. Work out room is decent - few cardio machines and free weights. Breakfast is your typical buffet - eggs, waffles, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc. They had cookies daily at 4pm, a great business center in the lobby, and the staff was more than happy to answer any questions.
Free parking was also a plus, however it's outdoor parking outside the hotel (not covered) and I wouldn't leave any of my valuables in my car. The area can be a little sketchy, but that's just downtown Houston in general.
I travel to Houston 12-15 times a year for work and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went to Houston for the Yesus tour/concert. Most convent location At a fair price. Facility is older clean but needs renovation. Staff is friendly and helpful and the free parking is a big plus, and the food desert makes knowing what you want very important

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Ronald W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff, complimentary parking facility and quality of food. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for NBA AllStar Weekend in February. This Inn Surprised me! The hotel provides free parking which was a huge plus during this particular weekend. In addition, it's walking distance from all the sporting venues in downtown Houston. Moreover, they serve breakfast in the mornings and leave goodies in a display by the elevators. My room was equipped with complimentary internet and 2 comfy queen beds. The staff was accommodating and we're more than helpful with directions and insight about entertainment and places to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ines G, Guest services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I am really happy that you had a Fantastic Experience with us, with our property, our staff and all the extras we offer all our valuable guests... we await your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I am kind of embarrassed to reviewing so many Holiday Inns. Due to lack of availability of hotel rooms in all of Houston, I had little choice and booked with a known brand. Now I know why it was available. The location is close to downtown but in an area that is completely desolate and void of any entertainment. The appeared to go through a "forced" transformation into a newly remodeled Holiday Inn (like the new ones) but fell significantly short. Common area was ok, but fitness facility equipment was broken, the belt on a treadmill like ice (dangerous). The elevator is dark as is the rooms. Quality of finishes in the rooms poor, just painted over. Room smelled damp. The walls are very thin and sounded like someone was jumping on the ceiling like Super 8 quality.

The only good things I can say is free wifi and bed was nice...love the soft pillow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear JTCFIA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Really rude and unhelpful staff. The hotel manager cannot be bothered to address your concerns, and the front desk manager is completely unsympathetic. I travel a lot for business and have never experienced such rude service. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear ssm17,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our service and facilities are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received, less than satisfactory. Your comments are certainly very troubling. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to assure you that this will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Houston
#102 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.