We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, funny bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 Post Oak Parkway, Houston, TX 77027 (Great Uptown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop and Drop
Ranked #42 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, funny bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After check-in, we entered our room, tired from a long day of travel. We were shocked to see the lumpiest, bumpiest beds we had ever seen. We thought "This can't be right." So I emailed the manager after waiting at the desk a long time. Sent him a photo of our beds (below) and asked for a change if it was not as intended. No reply. Later, we inquired at the desk and were in disbelief when we were told, "That is our special 'Cloud 9' bedding." I was sure she was joking. But she insisted she wasn't. Apparently the cleaning staff didn't read the label and washed the heck out of the bedspread and all the stuffing clumped up within each stitched area. We got a good laugh anyway.
The room was adequate, the parking expensive, the breakfast about average, with some nasty looking yellow squares that passed for eggs. The manager gets an F for no response. But the location and price are good, so if you need a good laugh....

Room Tip: Get an east facing room away from the super busy freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    148
    50
    15
    2
See reviews for
80
62
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in Houston for a funeral and thus our reservation was last minute. Several family members stayed at the Hampton and we all had a great stay. The front desk staff were very helpful and courteous. We had one family member who planned to arrive late and then arrived very late due to a delayed flight. the desk staff helped him get checked in and to his room quickly and allowed him to get some rest before the funeral the next morning.

The rooms were typical of the Hampton chain; clean, adequate, and consistent. We also utilized the fitness center which was also clean and well appointed. The breakfast area was very well kept and clean. The options were adequate to start the day and the staff took care to keep it stocked and tidy.

The location couldn't be much better, easily accessible from the interstate but not noisy. This location is also close to numerous restaurants and not far from the galleria (I would not say you could walk to a lots of dining options but they are a short drive.

Our only complaint was that our AC unit was a bit noisy and this was bothersome overnight.

I would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that face the interstate. Request a room facing north or east for minimal noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed there for one night. The room was clean and spacious with a comfy bed and free WiFi. The breakfast options were sufficient except for the temperature in the breakfast and lobby area, was freezing cold!
What I found strange is having the coffee maker placed in the bathroom! Also, no Safe Box so had to keep our valuables with us!
Staff weren't very friendly or smiley..however, the main asset of this place is its location..The hotel is situated just a few minutes away from The Galleria and many restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this great hotel. Upon arrival, the manager gave us snacks and water, since the cookies were all gone. Our room was very nice, updated with spacious bath. My only complaint is that the vanity is inside the bathroom, which really slows down a family with 3 females because everyone has a lot of primping do to. The room itself was small, not a lot of room for 4 people to move around, but since we were just there to sleep at night, it was not a big deal. The lobby is great - modern looking with dark wood trim and plenty of comfy and usable seating for breakfast and the "happy hour" in the evenings. The breakfast area is kept in a large room that has frosted glass doors which close it off when not in use. There are plenty of hot and cold items to choose from. The fitness room is nice, with towels and tv as well as free weights, treadmill, elliptical machine, etc. The pool was great too, although the deck is tiny. There is gated parking for a daily fee as well as free parking. It didn't seem like you needed the gated parking, and the cars were split about 50/50, but we did it anyway as we did not know the area very well. The Galleria is about a 12 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed there for our honeymoon, and had a good experience. It was clean, staff was friendly, and our needs were taken care of. The breakfast items could be a bit better, but it wasn't too big an issue. Besides, there were plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for value but don't want to sacrifice location stay here for 124 a night. Clean rooms that are spacious and cozy, beds are really comfortable and u get a free hot breakfast. Minutes from the galleria!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Hampton Inn was conveniently located for our purposes. Also, it was very close to a Target. The only challenge that I saw was that, in case the hotel is very full, you may have to pay for parking within a gated enclosure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria

Address: 4500 Post Oak Parkway, Houston, TX 77027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#42 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Houston - near the Galleria, located less than one mile from The Galleria mall off I-610, offers easy access to top Houston attractions including Uptown Park, NRG Stadium, Minute Maid Park and George R. Brown Convention Center. Each modern guest room features 42-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, mini-fridges and even free WiFi. Start your day off right with a free hot breakfast buffet served each morning. Keep up your routine at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Business travelers appreciate our close proximity to area businesses such as Bechtel, Haliburton, Minute Maid Company and Marathon Oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Houston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.