We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel room with a kitchen... you can't go wrong with that!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Houston/Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Houston/Galleria to your Saves list
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria) (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #43 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
League City, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hotel room with a kitchen... you can't go wrong with that!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I booked several hotel rooms for a Girls Night Away for me and my other mommy friends. We had a great experience getting the room booked and spoke several times with the front desk to make sure all things were in order. (They even called ME back to confirm all information the day before check-in.)

When we arrived, our rooms were not immediately available but they were quick to get us checked into rooms that were cleaned and ready. Because we were unable to have all the rooms together, they gave us complimentary parking for ALL of the vehicles (we had 6) and reduced the room rates on all the rooms as well. The rooms were a bit small considering all the amenities (kitchen with pots, pans, dinnerware, cooking utensils, and stove but no oven). The sitting area was a nice size with a couch that folded out into a sleeper, plenty of room for a group of women to sit and talk and have a glass of wine. Bed linens and pillows were clean and very soft/comfortable. We did request extra towels/pillows and those were brought to us quickly by housekeeping.

The hotel itself was quiet even though we were at the rear of the hall near the elevators. When you arrive, if you are driving too fast or blink, you will miss the entrance as it is hidden by the neighboring apartment complex. They do offer covered parking in a gated garage for added security. The area was nice and we were only a few minutes away from shopping at the Galleria and many restaurants. The hotel does offer a hot breakfast buffet of the basics (eggs, sausage, cereal, muffins, juice, milk, coffee, etc) but if you want something more Shipley's Donuts is only a few blocks away as are a few other restaurants. (I was not impressed by the buffet... and was disappointed that their soda machine was not turned on!)

Best part of our stay was that there was a full functional kitchen so that we could have snacks and beverages in the room at all hours.

Least favorite part of the stay was that the room size was smaller than I had expected.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon01, Director of Sales at HYATT house Houston/Galleria, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your experience at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites. We are very happy that yor had a good experience with booking our property and with our front desk.

We have a wonderful staff that is extremely committed to customer service, it is great that they were able to get you checked in right away and that you were compensated for your inconvenience.

Our breakfast is usually very well received, I apologize for it not being up to par during your stay, we always have an attendant and a Manager on duty every morning during breakfast, it is a shame that we it was not made known to you so that we could have accommodated your needs at that moment.

We value your comments, this is how we can always strive to reach our goal of 100 percent guest satisfaction. Please come by and see us again when you're in Houston, and if there is anything more you would like to share with me, please do not hesitate to call me. Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    108
    35
    11
    20
See reviews for
90
44
18
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband and I checked in on Friday afternoon, August 6, 2010, for a 2-night stay. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the front desk staff and were impressed with their friendliness and professionalism. Our room on the 1st floor was beautifully furnished and it overlooked the pool area. It was spacious, clean, and very quiet for the duration of our stay. Housekeeping staff were attentive and thoroughly cleaned our room and left fresh towels each day. We also enjoyed a FREE full, hot breakfast each morning. There was a daily $10 charge for parking in the gated hotel garage, but with auto breakins being so common, we had no problem paying for parking there. The hotel is located on Sage Road in an area of luxury high-rise condominiums and there was almost no traffic on that end of the road. We liked the area because it felt more "residential" than "commercial." Yet, the Galleria, Loop 610, and the Southwest Freeway (Hwy. 59) are very close by. We did not use the exercise facility or the business center since we were gone most of the time, so we have no comments about those amenities. When we made our reservation, we inquired about bringing our pets. We were informed that pets ARE allowed on the property for a $200 non-refundable fee. We understood that to mean the hotel (in a very discreet manner) discourages pet parents to bring their fur babies, so we left ours at home with a trusted pet sitter. We should add that, while this is not a new property, it has been very well maintained and our experience staying there exceeded our expectations, especially since we paid a very reasonable rate of $74/night for a lovely 1-bedroom suite. We will definitely stay at this hotel again next time we travel to Houston.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon01, Director of Sales at HYATT house Houston/Galleria, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites. Please come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Went on a 50th birthday trip with some friends and chose this hotel for several reasons, happy hour and their shuttle that will take you to local resturants. The problem was that we checked in on Labor Day and were told at check in that the shuttle didn't run on holidays. I mentioned the fact that I was disappointed as we were hoping to not have to worry about drinking and driving. We discussed it among ourselves and decided to call a taxi. As we were enjoying our glass of wine at happy hour, the hotel manager and several employees came in with a bottle of champagne, a card signed by each one of them, wished my friend happy birthday and said that they would be paying for our taxi! Wow! They won 6 loyal customers that day! As icing on the cake, the rooms were awesome, the food was great and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly from the maids to the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon01, Director of Sales at HYATT house Houston/Galleria, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you so much for letting us know that of your experience with us here. We love our guests and go out of our way to make sure their stay is as pleasant as possible. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are studios, so there is a living room area with a large couch, tv, desk and adjoining kitchen. This is separated by french doors to the bedroom area. The kitchen and bathroom were both on the large size and looked to be recently updated.

The hotel goes above and beyond with touches like the complimentary evening reception (free wine & beer!) and complimentary breakfast in the morning (hot items like eggs & bacon!). There is free wireless internet. They also have a mini-store downstairs open 24 hours per day with other snack and beverage items. The cab from Hobby Airport took about 25 minutes and was $35. There was not much within walking distance so I would recommend renting a car. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon01, Director of Sales at HYATT house Houston/Galleria, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you so much for your response, we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon and please make sure to go to the front desk and inquire about our complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. Although we are nestled in a quiet area of the Galleria, we can provide transportation to shopping, restaurants, entertainment and "hot spots" in the Galleria. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I booked this hotel because I was looking for a deal in the galleria area! I booked this hotel for a rate of 99.00 with free parking,free wifi, free breakfast, and a bathtub as we are traveling with a 2 year old. This wasnt my first choice but all the other area hotels for that rate had showers! Impossible to bath a two year old in a shower. Anyway back to the hotel! It was wonderfully furnished and very clean! My grib comes at 2:30 in the morning when we were on the second floor and noticed the party at the pool was still on from 10:00 pm. So we tried to contact the front desk for an hour! No one answered. My husband finally went down to get an attendent to ask the LOUD-DRUNK swimmers to go to bed! He attendent promptly went to attempt to get the 5 persons out of the pool! From our second story window we saw that they were fully NAKED swimming in the pool for hours! Needless to say they did not go easily and we did not get to bed until 3:30 am. I am not mad that this incident happened! I am mad that this was our only problem with this hotel and I personally thought it was a big problem that we did not get any sleep! I reminded them upon check out of our problem and how upset I was and they did not offer any compensation! No discount off our night or anything! They then informed me that they did rectify the situation and closed the pool until it could be shocked!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon01, Director of Sales at HYATT house Houston/Galleria, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback, and our apologies for what you experienced. We too were completely disturbed by these happenings and are still appaled. I know that our front desk agent was doing everything possible to stop what was happening which is the only reason that he was not available to answer your call. Please know that this was a very rare and embarassing incident, this is not the "normal" guests that we have staying with us, Hyatt Corporate Headquarter has been notified of these travelers and are taking measures to make sure this never happens again to us, nor any other Hyatt property.

I also apologize that the front desk did not do anything to compensate for your very uncomfortable stay, I think we were all still in shock the next morning. Please allow me to humbly ask that you give us another opportunity to come stay with us. We are a great property, with great customer service, we would really appreciate it if you would give us the opportunity to experience the true Hyatt Summerfield Suites, please contact me directly.

Please let me konw if you will give us the opportunity to make this up to you...we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Hotel looks small from the outside, but is actually pretty large. It has its own indoor parking garage, which was OK, except that it now costs $10 per night to park there (it used to be $8/night.) This is actually cheap in comparison to parking fees charged by other hotels in the area; I think Hotel Indigo is the only one in the Galleria area that doesn't charge. The hotel is a short drive to The Galleria (not within walking distance). They had a nice pool/hot tub, and our room was well-appointed, and very clean. My only problem is that the ceilings are VERY thin, and you can hear the people above you walking around. I had the TV turned up, the A/C on, and my personal fan on, and I could still hear the creaking at all hours of the night, both nights that we were there. My advice is to either bring a pair of earplugs or request a room on the top floor, so that nobody will be above you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was affordable and very comfortable for us traveling with our 3 kids. We stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed the room very much with the king bed and a pull out couch. Everything was very clean including the bathroom and the kitchen. The kitchen had everything that you needed to prepare meals. They have a mini-store downstairs in the lobby in chase you just want to grab something. The hotel is not within walking distance of the Galleria, but that was OK for us. Not a problem to drive a couple of blocks to get there. We did not get a chance to enjoy the Breakfast provided by the hotel, but did hear from other guests that it was good. We found places to eat and a grocery store to shop at right on Richmond Ave. The Pool is a bit smaller than I thought, but it was very clean. We got to enjoy it with the kids several times during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Houston/Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Houston/Galleria

Address: 3440 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Houston
#30 Business Hotel in Houston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Houston/Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Hyatt House Houston Galleria, located three blocks from the Galleria Mall features a brand-new H Bar, complimentary Morning Spread(R) breakfast and suites with full-equipped kitchens. Enjoy many free perks such as property-wide WiFi, 24/7 fitness center and grocery shopping service. Lounge at our outdoor pool and firepit or grab a drink from our new H Bar with sharable menu items and full bar service. Each of our stylish suites is pet-friendly and offer full kitchens with stainless steel appliances, flat-screen TVs and Hyatt Grand Beds(R). Start your day with our new Morning Spread(R) breakfast with a yummy omelet bar. Forget something? We have a 24/7 Guest Market with snacks and travel items or take advantage of our new Borrows(R) program and we'll lend you anything from flatirons, yoga kits, board games and even pool toys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your HYATT house Houston/Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria Hotel Houston
Hyatt Houston Galleria
Summerfield Suites Houston
Houston Hyatt
Houston Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Houston/Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.