We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with one major flaw...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Houston/Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Houston/Galleria to your Saves list
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria) (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #40 of 469 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with one major flaw...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Hotel looks small from the outside, but is actually pretty large. It has its own indoor parking garage, which was OK, except that it now costs $10 per night to park there (it used to be $8/night.) This is actually cheap in comparison to parking fees charged by other hotels in the area; I think Hotel Indigo is the only one in the Galleria area that doesn't charge. The hotel is a short drive to The Galleria (not within walking distance). They had a nice pool/hot tub, and our room was well-appointed, and very clean. My only problem is that the ceilings are VERY thin, and you can hear the people above you walking around. I had the TV turned up, the A/C on, and my personal fan on, and I could still hear the creaking at all hours of the night, both nights that we were there. My advice is to either bring a pair of earplugs or request a room on the top floor, so that nobody will be above you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    118
    36
    11
    21
See reviews for
95
51
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was affordable and very comfortable for us traveling with our 3 kids. We stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed the room very much with the king bed and a pull out couch. Everything was very clean including the bathroom and the kitchen. The kitchen had everything that you needed to prepare meals. They have a mini-store downstairs in the lobby in chase you just want to grab something. The hotel is not within walking distance of the Galleria, but that was OK for us. Not a problem to drive a couple of blocks to get there. We did not get a chance to enjoy the Breakfast provided by the hotel, but did hear from other guests that it was good. We found places to eat and a grocery store to shop at right on Richmond Ave. The Pool is a bit smaller than I thought, but it was very clean. We got to enjoy it with the kids several times during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, fl
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a cross-country road trip.

Pros - great location near Galleria, free breakfast and evening reception with wine, beer, and snacks, parking garage with entry at each floor, we booked it for an excellent price on hotwire.com

Cons - loud AC unit, rooms are showing signs of age

Overall, I think this hotel would be an excellent place to stay for a business traveler while still having everything a family would need.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Very clean and nice hotel at the Galleria, very central in Houston and good choice for a hotel with decent price and nice amenities.
They had a happy hour every night with free beer/wine and food! It was really like appetizer and you could eat as much as you want.
Unfortunately no bar at night - and the pool is a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This property is in the Galleria area, off Richmond, close to highway access, but not within walking distance of the mall stores. It is close to a drugstore and a few chain restaurants. It does offer a complimentary breakfast, with hot entrees, weekday afternoon beer, wine and generous hot snacks (chicken wings, nachos, soups), Hyatt pantry, daily WSJ, 24 hour fitness, outdoor pool, many cable channels and covered parking garage. It is clean and has a friendly and visible staff. However, our room, #432, a 2-bedroom, 2-bath king suite, had a very odd vibe....seemed like we were staying in a do-it-yourself low-budget attic remodel. The kitchen was large, furnished with amenities, granite counter tops, and all appliances, but no table and chairs for dining! We ended up sitting on the couch and balancing plates on our knees. The bedrooms had desks and narrow bookcases, but no dresser or armoire for clothing and only one nightstand with the king bed. There was no closet in the room; just a clothing bar inside the bathroom. Curtains were cut off at bottoms rather than hemmed. Furnishings and decor were basic dorm room-in style, color and quality. Towel holders and paperholder rattled on the walls. I could not get a showercap. Room was clean, but not pleasing. One other peculiar feature to be aware of--the gate to the parking garage opens out and up. As we scanned the room card for admission, we always kept the car in reverse because of that sensation that the door was going to clip the front of the car. And, the 4th floor access door to the building never did open for us- it was jammed and then one morning we saw the handle on the ground. So getting into the building required parking on 3 and going upstairs to 4!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

A Gold Passport Diamond member, I have never stayed at a Summerfield. I loved it and it is now a Houston favorite. Clean room, excellent service and attention from a small staff, and good sized rooms. Very close to Galleria (you can't walk there though) and extremely easy access to freeway without traffic issues. Free beer and breakfast is great, I passes on the buffet though it would be perfect if I was there not for business. Quiet location and may switch there on 2 weeks from the JW Marriott. MUCH nicer than the Residence Inn. No room service no, but great restaurants nearby or a quick drive south on 1-610.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I'm usually extremely impressed by Hyatt properties and the level of service. Pretty much everything was perfect but the one thing that really matters at the end of the day was not - my ability to get a good night's sleep.

The room was extremely clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly. They have free internet and the location is not too bad - everything in Houston is "far away" so it's not their fault.

That being said, the bed was too soft and made it almost impossible to get a proper night's sleep. If they fix the beds, this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HYATT house Houston/Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Houston/Galleria

Address: 3440 Sage Road, Houston, TX 77056 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Houston
#29 Family Hotel in Houston
#51 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Houston/Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Hyatt House Houston Galleria, located three blocks from the Galleria Mall features a brand-new H Bar, complimentary Morning Spread(R) breakfast and suites with full-equipped kitchens. Enjoy many free perks such as property-wide WiFi, 24/7 fitness center and grocery shopping service. Lounge at our outdoor pool and firepit or grab a drink from our new H Bar with sharable menu items and full bar service. Each of our stylish suites is pet-friendly and offer full kitchens with stainless steel appliances, flat-screen TVs and Hyatt Grand Beds(R). Start your day with our new Morning Spread(R) breakfast with a yummy omelet bar. Forget something? We have a 24/7 Guest Market with snacks and travel items or take advantage of our new Borrows(R) program and we'll lend you anything from flatirons, yoga kits, board games and even pool toys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your HYATT house Houston/Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Houston / Galleria Hotel Houston
Hyatt Houston Galleria
Summerfield Suites Houston
Houston Hyatt
Houston Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Houston/Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.