We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant

Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant
2712 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098
713-533-0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Some of my favorite gastropub food.

Some might be a bit maligned to pigeonhole places like Queen Vic, but seriously, don't 'assume' here. A very fun and inviting GastroPub.

-British/Indian Fusion that is PERFECTLY matched to the fantastic assortment of beers.
-Lively Pub talk and very friendly servers and bartenders.
-Take colleagues or business associates here for lunch, it's a great stop.
-The bar is very clean, and so is the restaurant area.
-Try the Curry fries and 'The Queen's Curry!' WOW!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I wish Queen Vic was in my neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Queen Vic is a very friendly, casual pub. The food was very good and much better than typical pub food. We had, samosa, chicken tiki masala and a lamb burger. We stayed on the indian side of the menu and were very happy although the fish and chips looked great at the next table. The portions are generous and everything was well made. Good beer and wine selection. If this was in my 'hood, it would be a perfect casual night out place. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Beer and Curry... mmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Queen Vic is comparable to a modern British pub where there is an emphasis on eating rather than drinking. That said, the Queen Vic serves a very good selection of beers and when we visited, I enjoyed a pint of one of my favourite British beers, Fullers ESB... even if it was a little cooler than it should be ;-)

The Queen Vic's menu is British inspired with a noticeable Indian influence. We started with an appetiser of Prawn & Vegetable Bhajia (chickpea battered shrimp and vegetables) which was really good with an excellent, crispy, light-brown batter. Although I was tempted to try the fish and chips for my main course, I opted for the special of the day which was a Gulf Shrimp curry. The flavour was beautiful, very subtle, spicy but not spicy hot. The naan bread was incredibly light and tasty. Put simply, it's one of the best curries I've had in a long time. Great meal and would recommend this pub / restaurant for anyone who likes Indian food. Will definitely return and will try one of the traditional British dishes next time. The atmosphere inside the pub was lively but we sat outside and enjoyed the warmth of the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pub with Feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice location, comfortable interior and outside spaces, varied menu with English, Indian and Vegan entrees. Service friendly and gracious. Parking by valet only due to small area only downside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cracking Vindaloo and great beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have just come back from there with a belly full of their excellent lamb vindaloo. I have been starved of a good curry for sometime as there are none where I live. This place will be a first call during every visit to Houston. When you couple this with an excellent beer menu, chock full of innovation and taste all it needs is a little atmosphere. I am sure that this place has that in spades too just maybe not at 1800 on a Monday night but Monday night is international lousy night out.
I also thought the service was good attentive and most importantly knew their products.
Value for money was excellent and if you have a corporate dinner to have avoid the starchy pretentious restaurant fare available in Houston and show you client you care and treat him to some genuine good food and ale.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.