We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant

Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant
2712 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098
713-533-0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good Pub Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

First visit and I thought I had covered all the Brit pubs in Houston. Very welcoming staff on arrival and on leaving when the server came to the door and wished us all the best. Did not have a chance to sample the fine range of beers as was driving.
The menu wa different with an Indian theme. The naan wraps were a different and tasty option. I will return and will give the evening session a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I had lunch on the recommendation of our daughter. We loved it. Service was great, waiters recommendations were delicious...special was curried chicken pot pie, great crust and an interesting twist on the traditional...grilled ham and pimento cheese panini was really tasty, great ham, very nicely done pimento cheese. waiter recommeded a Fuller beer, delicious with dark bitter orange flavor. apple chutney turnovers as a appetizer were unusual, very crispy buttery crust with tart and spicy apple filling....NICE. a great place. we will be back lots.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Well Done Queen Vic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Queen Vic. The bartender was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Great selection of brews and a very well stocked full bar as well with many unusual cocktails to choose from. I had the veggie burger, homemade by the chef. It was very good, as well as the fries. A delicious blend of pub and Indian cuisine from an Indian chef raised in England. Well done! We will return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The menu is common in the modern British pub-grub, bangers and mash and Indian cuisine.....etc. However, everything is so spiced with Indian spices that even the Shepard's Pie was inedible. The service was lousy, the French fries came out cold, and 3 out of 4 meals came out with the 4th meal trailing behind by a good 5 minutes. It IS a pub, so the atmosphere was extremely noisy. I was very underwhelmed and would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Cocktails in town!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I absolutely adore the signature cocktails -they're inventive and fresh and fun to pass around your table of friends. Several of the appetizers are great - especially the samosas. I have also been for a meal before and think you're better off sticking to cocktails and appetizers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Vic Pub and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.