We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for an airport restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
7800 Airport Blvd, Houston Bush Airport, Houston, TX 77061
(713) 847-7622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
765 reviews 765 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Good food for an airport restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I ate at Pappadeaux on a layover in the Houston Bush Airport on my way back from a mission trip to Guatemala in February. The service was quick and efficient. The food was good . My traveling companion and I each had the seafood gumbo. He had the smoked salmon and I had the coconut shrimp. The servings were large portions for appetizers. I was satisfied with my gumbo and shrimp and with the service. We had plenty of time to make our connection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    25
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whiteland, IN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food is yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Food here was excellent especially for airport food. Service was average. The restaurant is small so it is very crowded since many customers have luggage. A little on the pricey side but food did not disappoint. I would eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place in the Houston Airport for a layover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had 2 hours between flights. You'll find Pappadeaux's in the international terminal. Using the airport train it's easy to get to. We were there at lunch time. They had menu and buffet dinning. The lobster off the menu was huge & great tasting. A couple people in our group opted for the buffet it had a great selection. The restaurant is on the second floor away from the fast pace of the airport. Very relaxing, delicious food and cold drinks. Lets not forget about the service, we were seated right away, our waiter was very friendly, had lots of stories to share and very attentive to all his customers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“surprisingly good airport food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located a floor above Terminal E Concourse level, this restaurant serves cajun themed food. Though generally crowded, the wait times have usually been reasonable the three or four times we have eaten there, since most patrons are in a mood to eat and scoot to catch their flight. Service is fast, as well, for the same reason. That said, I don't think I'd try to eat here with less than an hour layover. Food quality is decent, though I haven't eaten at any other Pappadeaux locations to make a comparison. Yesterday the wife had the gumbo and I had a shrimp Po' Boy [oyster Po' Boys not on the menu :-(].

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Packed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food was good, we had to wait in the bar for an extended period since they were filled to capacity and so many things going on in the Houston area. The economy may be bad elsewhere but, you could not tell it from our experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.