We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood jewel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Devine Affair

The Devine Affair
14021 Memorial Drive, Houston, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Devine Affair is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N Kirkwood Rd
Gretna, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood jewel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very lovely place - nice decor and extremely friendly, attentive staff. Food is wonderful!! Shrimp risotto was almost perfect. Devine is a jewel in this neighborhood!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is beautifully appointed. They have a great wine list with reasonable prices. The Greek salad is big enough to share, especially if you add the grilled shrimp - they split it for you if you ask. It really is the best Greek salad in Houston (that designation used to belong to the Pappas restaurants). My daughter swears by the Cesar Salad. I think it is good but the Greek is better. For a starter, we enjoyed the meatballs. They were perfect with a spicy bite that made them wonderful and interesting. The chicken roulade is incredible and the green beans are cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Order the Chicken Marsala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Three of us decided to try this place again (after not being thrilled with it when it first opened). THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! I am thrilled this neighborhood place is under new management. She (the new owner) is friendly and knowledgeable. Our nice waiter suggested the Chicken Marsala to me after I inquired about several entrees. I am so glad he recommended it. PLEASE ORDER THE CHICKEN MARSALA. I can't wait to return.

P.S. I told my friend about our wonderful dinner the next day and they decided to try it that evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I took my elderly girlfriend here for a late, birthday lunch. We were immediately impressed by the pleasant decor. It had a European feel with nice appointments. Oddly though, there was only a small section of tables with tablecloths. The rest of the tables were nice, but bare. Our waiter was Ernie, and he was very attentive, just enough attention not to be intrusive. Lunch service ended at 2 PM, so we order from the dinner menu. The menu was extensive and would seem to have something for everyone. Ernie volunteered that the chef could easily make a vegetarian or gluten free meal if desired. They regularly carry gf pasta. I had the grilled shrimp with vegetable risotto. The shrimp were tasty, and perfectly cooked. The risotto was also enjoyable with Parmesan shavings on top. My girlfriend had eggplant parmesan, and she seemed to equally as pleased. All of their of their desserts are made in house, and my girlfriend chose the chocolate mousse cake. They decorated the plate with a birthday greeting, and the serving was large enough to easily share. We were very happy with this find, and we will be glad to return. My only criticism would be a better quality bread. What they served was good, but it could have been better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good food, service not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had lunch with a small group of friends. The restaurant was quiet so we could talk, the food was very good, but the service was not so good. I would return for the food, and hope the service would improve.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devine Affair also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Devine Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Devine Affair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.