We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place really made Houston for me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends House Hostel

Friends House Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friends House Hostel
Save
You added Friends House Hostel to your Saves list
1818 Lubbock #3, Houston, TX 77007   |  
Hotel amenities
Tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place really made Houston for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

And that's good, because something had to.

I booked for three nights, ended up staying for four. The first person I met was Dan, out on the street, who asked "Are you the new guy?" Within 10 minutes, I was very happy to be the new guy. I had a kitchen that I should have made more use of, for a price I couldn't argue with. The building put me in mind of nice old wooden homes I grew up in, in Berkeley, CA.

The reputation for friendliness is deserved. On a weekend morning, Leah drove me to the conference I was attending downtown, when I was running a little late. She was great fun to talk to. As an inn manager myself, I have more than a little in common with her.

The neighborhood is quite as described in the other reviews here. For me, it was the perfect antidote to the conference venue (Hyatt Regency Downtown, in a bleak concrete-tower landscape which I've been told is also home to the terrestrial branch office of Darth Vader Enterprises.) The historic district offers comfortable diversity, but also, in its restaurants, bars and cafes, a lot of Stuff White People Like -- to which I'm fatally attracted, being a white quasi-hipster myself. At Beavers, I had quinoa-blackberry salad -- with a bowl of Texas chili. Both were great. At Catalina Cafe, I tried a Kenyan brew that had me asking the barista if their roaster ships internationally. Maybe it's no Austin, but if you need that in your life while you're in Houston, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we only stayed here one night on our second stop of our USA trip and we loved it... We had a private room with share bathroom. It was very clean and tidy. Surrounded by trees and wildlife we loved the whole vibe here. walking distance to the city and staff were extremely helpful and gave us directions and a map etc. would recommend to anyone passing through Houston. Only fault was their pillows being very uncomfortable but i did keep in mind that it was a budget hostel and i am fussy with pillows. So all round great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is great. I had a private room with private kitchen and a shared bathroom. It was clean and comfortable plus you get a free breakfast in the morning. The host, Leah was amazing and very friendly. If you need any travel advice or anything she is always willing to help out. She also gives you a map, some brochures and a Space Center voucher on arrival which is great. Trust her when she says that you can't walk Houston! I tried it and my feet suffered a lot! The area is safe and so is the city. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with a couple of friends in the dorm and were amazed of how nice atmosphere there was. I've never written a review about anything before but this place calls for one. The hosts, Leah and Danny are very friendly people and you can see they enjoy what they do. Their kindness spread through the guests without any of the hostel-hippie that you find at most places with flags all over and beer drinking receptionists.

In the common kitchen they have free noodles, phone with free calls to USA and Canada. The hostel is situated in the old German settlement of the city. I didn't care that much for the city on my travels but I did indeed enjoy the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We finished our road trip in Houston at this hostel. It was prefect for us we stayed in the mixed dorm. It was clean with a lovely sitting area and kitchen. It felt more like a little holiday let than a hostel. The owner was lovely and had lots of advice to give on places to visit etc. The only downside to the hostel was trying to find it when arriving at night in the dark. The hostel is a house on a residential street with only a very small sign so is not at all obvious. I would recommend staying here to friends, its in a really charming neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in a private room that was minimal but acceptable -- bare wooden floors, thin foam mattress -- but with an air conditioner that really cranked. (Houston is hot pretty much all the time.) Location is great, in an older 'hood just a few blocks from the glittering downtown and a 30-min walk (20 the way I walk) to Minute Maid Park. A few street people about, but it didn't feel dangerous to me.

Free breakfast and coffee in the mornings! Hard to beat.

The couple who run the hostel are quite warm and inviting. The man, Danny I believe, planted himself in the street one morning and did tai chi with swords -- bare-chested -- more weird than interesting ... then tried to get me to sign up for classes. No thanks!

Overall, excellent value for your money, even more so in the dorm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Charming place in the oldest area of Houston, probably one of the most interesting. Lovely houses and streets. Rooms are very rough. We had a good time apart from having all our stuff moved from one (private) room to another while we were out without even receiving a phone call to ask first. And when we complained politely about that the lovely girl that works there (Leah) turned into a chihuahua. We were really surprised after the great welcoming we'd received beforehand. To balance that out, Danny was a great host and character. He provided us with a free half an hour self-defence class, which then turned into a whole evening of self-defence: exhausting but very entertaining and useful. Anyhow, we then got robbed and mugged several times during our 6 months southamerican travel (not your fault Danny!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friends House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends House Hostel

Address: 1818 Lubbock #3, Houston, TX 77007
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.