We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friends House Hostel

Save Saved
You added Friends House Hostel to your Saves list
Friends House Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends House Hostel
1818 Lubbock #3, Houston, TX 77007   |  
Hotel amenities
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We finished our road trip in Houston at this hostel. It was prefect for us we stayed in the mixed dorm. It was clean with a lovely sitting area and kitchen. It felt more like a little holiday let than a hostel. The owner was lovely and had lots of advice to give on places to visit etc. The only downside to the hostel was trying to find it when arriving at night in the dark. The hostel is a house on a residential street with only a very small sign so is not at all obvious. I would recommend staying here to friends, its in a really charming neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in a private room that was minimal but acceptable -- bare wooden floors, thin foam mattress -- but with an air conditioner that really cranked. (Houston is hot pretty much all the time.) Location is great, in an older 'hood just a few blocks from the glittering downtown and a 30-min walk (20 the way I walk) to Minute Maid Park. A few street people about, but it didn't feel dangerous to me.

Free breakfast and coffee in the mornings! Hard to beat.

The couple who run the hostel are quite warm and inviting. The man, Danny I believe, planted himself in the street one morning and did tai chi with swords -- bare-chested -- more weird than interesting ... then tried to get me to sign up for classes. No thanks!

Overall, excellent value for your money, even more so in the dorm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Charming place in the oldest area of Houston, probably one of the most interesting. Lovely houses and streets. Rooms are very rough. We had a good time apart from having all our stuff moved from one (private) room to another while we were out without even receiving a phone call to ask first. And when we complained politely about that the lovely girl that works there (Leah) turned into a chihuahua. We were really surprised after the great welcoming we'd received beforehand. To balance that out, Danny was a great host and character. He provided us with a free half an hour self-defence class, which then turned into a whole evening of self-defence: exhausting but very entertaining and useful. Anyhow, we then got robbed and mugged several times during our 6 months southamerican travel (not your fault Danny!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Leah and Danny are friends!, My business takes me to many hotels around the world, yet a hotel is just a place to stay. At Friends house, you get to sample real people and experience the real culture that Houston has to offer.
Here you have everything you need and much more Leah and Danny are the best hosts I have ever met! Friendly, kind and helpful. They helped me find my way about, advised me on some great resturants and bars. On the last day before travelling back to the UK, I lost my wallet and had no money. Leah and Danny took me to the airport in their own car! Thank you Leah & Danny you are friends forever and I will never forget you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a fantastic hostel run by a very nice couple. We checked in very late and were given an amazing welcome with lots of advice on Houston. Nothing bad to say about this place, location, service and atmosphere were all top notch. I would absolutely recommend this place and would definately return should I visit Houston!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Danny and Leah who run the place are super friendly (pun intended) and seem to want to offer a help and tips to their guests. You basically get a house with 2 bedrooms, lounge and kitchen. Stayed in a private room which was quite large and they had double beds!
They had a bit of a mixup with our booking and we had to stay in the dorm room (which was fine) for one night. They happily deducted this inconvenience from the cost - showing marvellous customer service.
Very easy to meet people as its a chilled out place.
Cleanliness was good - depends on who you're staying with ofcourse.
Was a short walk to the river where you can walk along the bike path to the city.
Houston is a pretty quiet city so you're gonna want to venture away from the CBD which is fairly easy using the bus systems - all in walking distance from the hostel.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed at Friends Hostel and I must say I really enjoyed myself. I got to know the owner really well. Her name is Leah. She is wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friends House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends House Hostel

Address: 1818 Lubbock #3, Houston, TX 77007
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty lodging in Houston
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Friends House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.