We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, return for the service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saldivia's South American Grill

Saldivia's South American Grill
10234 Westheimer, Houston, TX 77042
713 782-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lovely atmosphere with warm colors, beautiful bar and private room for parties.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go for the food, return for the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

So I found myself in Houston for business and having a quiet night off for a change, located Saldivia's right around the corner from my hotel. I like South American food and wine, especially the wine, so I thought I would have a nice quiet dinner to myself. Looking over the wine list I saw a great selection of wines from Argentina and Chili as well as a grape from Uruguay, "Tannat" that I had never heard of. I questioned Gus about this wine and he explained that it is similar to a Spanish or Italian wine and that it is more of an old world style rather than the new world style you expect to see from South America. I ordered a bottle of Tannat and a spinach and cheese empanada for starters. My main dish was the Asado with grilled vegetables. I enjoyed a nice dinner with a great new bottle of wine and it was all excellent. The steak and grilled veggies were done perfectly and well seasoned. The wine was a nice complement to the dinner and left me with a new found treasure. This is a wonderful and personable place. They truly care about their customers and believe that the meal should be an experience for all the senses. Don't miss Salvidia's if you have the chance.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure serving you!
Sincerely,
Gus Saldivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bacon wrapped shrimp was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

While in Houston for business we found Saldivia's on Tripadvisor's suggested restaurants to eat at in Houston. We were not dissapointed! The waiter suggested empanadas for an appetizer and we tried one beef and one spinach/cheese. The spinach and cheese one was definitely our favorite. For dinner we both had the bacon wrapped shrimp with roast potatoes and vegitables and it was so delicious. The portion was huge and I had to give up before I had finished everything. For desert we tried the tres leche cake and the creme brule. Both were very good but we were just so full from dinner we couldnt eat much of either. I would highly reccomend Saldivia's to anyone looking for great flavorful food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Gus Saldivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Argentina in the Strip Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Authentic place..haven't gone through the whole menu - but tastes very nice..not 5 star however. The main plus is the family friendly atmosphere. You can go there business or family and relax and have a nice and reasonable dinner. Not as good as some places in Buenos Aires - but pretty close for Houston standard. The owner is around and authentic, too. Hard to find in Houston where some German places are run by Mexican owners. They have good lunch deals as well. Definitely more relaxing than the 'high octan" Brazilean churascerias in the neighborhood of Westheimer, where you spend twice as much and dont have the relaxed atmosphere...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the review! We loved serving you and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If you can't fly to Buenos Aires this weekend - then come to Saldivia's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

An amazing menu of all of my Argentine favourites - from the empanadas, the parrilladas, the vacio, and more! Finishing off the evening with tiramisu or flan with a great serving of dulce de leche. The atmosphere is excellent and is well accompanied on the weekends with live tango music and excellent bottles of wine. This restaurant will not disappoint. One of my very favourites of Houston!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We enjoyed serving you and welcome you any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We went on a bad night?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Based upon the glowing reviews here, we drove 20 minutes from our Houston hotel, hoping to find delicious Latin American food. At first, we thought we were at the wrong place. We found Saldivia's in a nondescript strip mall and the place was empty except for one other couple. We have traveled extensively in South America, and we know what good Latin American food is (see my review for Americas, another Houston restaurant). We first ordered the beef empanadas, which were a poor representation of one of our favorite appetizers. My husband then had the entrana, a beef skirt steak, which was good but not special. I ordered a breaded chicken breast with mozzarella and tomatoes, which had no flavor. To my horror, I found a tiny piece of wire (maybe from a wire pot scrubber?) that had been baked into the chicken. The restaurant's owner/manager who was there that night, and who was not the older man in the photo, seemed like a very nice guy. I didn't complain, though I left all but a few bites on my plate, and we paid our pricey bill and left hungry. I hate to give bad reviews, but I want to warn my fellow travelers about this place. We can't believe this is one of the top-rated restaurants in a city with so many very fine restaurants!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your dinner. I do appreciate that you provided feedback so that we can strive to do better. This review was quite a surprise as we have never had one bad review before. I would love it if you gave us another chance. I will personally take care of you.
Sincerely,
Christina Saldivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saldivia's South American Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saldivia's South American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saldivia's South American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.