We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saldivia's South American Grill

Saldivia's South American Grill
10234 Westheimer, Houston, TX 77042
713 782-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 7,205 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lovely atmosphere with warm colors, beautiful bar and private room for parties.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OMG! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Really love everything we had, steak, ensalda capri, veggies, and CHOCOLATE TRES LA LECHE cake!!!! We definitively go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you! Our family loves serving traditional Uruguyan food and we are so happy you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    51
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food - great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I work right around the corner from this restaurant and take people there often. My guest always are well pleased with the food and Gus and his team provide friendly service. They offer great value especially the daily specials.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaldivia, Owner at Saldivia's South American Grill, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for dining at our restaurant. It was a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My date and I tried it out about a week ago on a whim. We had no expectations going in not even sure what we would order. After the meal, we were sold. This is an excellent restaurant hidden in a strip center next to the Beltway on Westheimer. It behind a Dairy Queen. It is very nicely decorated and the food was excellent. We will be back and you should go as soon as possible. Most entree's are in the teens $

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Cool ambience, Argentinian tango music, friendly staff, good south American wine selection, delicious appetizers, excellent steak, great value. 

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Uruguyan Food with great music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went there last night for a date night and I was extremely impressed- it started with very friendly waiters and the owner coming to say hello, then the warm bread that we put their homemade chimichuri on (I could eat the chimichuri with a spoon!), then the argentinan white wine (only $6/glass- very good price) followed by our empanada appetizers (spinach and cheese was my favorite) and the skirt steak and pasta entrees. And to top all this off, there was an amazing singer/guitarist who only spoke and sang in Spanish but was so encapsulating and fun (he would go around to the tables and get you to sing parts of the song). Oh and I almost forgot- get the tres leches- it was amazing!

I will definately come back- hope to see live tango next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saldivia's South American Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saldivia's South American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saldivia's South American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.