We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp and grits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollister Grill

Hollister Grill
1741 Hollister, Houston, TX 77055
713-973-1741
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 7,287 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best shrimp and grits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This small restaurant in a strip mall is a real treasure in the neighborhood . The owner oversees everything and the food is delicious. BYOB is encouraged. We have never had a bad dish from the mixed seafood grill to the steaks to the shrimp over Tasso grits. Desserts are just as delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“New Address in Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hollister has opened a new location at 5555 Washington. Easy parking. Good service. Very good selections on menu and cooks are ready to create custom choices for the consumer if ingredients available. Great desserts worth saving room for. No liquor license as yet so BYOB. Menu changes as ingredients come to market. Appetizers very generous in size and flavor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided to give Hollister Grill a try after a recommendation from a friend and reading reviews. Unfortunately we were not impressed with the brunch. Crab cake Benedict was as many reviewers stated, wonderful but I was not impressed with the pancakes and eggs. I should never order eggs out because I am quite picky and hate eggs that come with a hard brown surface which these did. The pancakes were just ok, nothing special and the syrup had an interesting taste, perhaps an off brand. Lamb burger was prepared perfectly. One in our group told the waiter she was vegetarian and wanted the eggs Benedict without the crab cake, it arrived with ham. We would not return to the Hollister Grill for brunch but would consider it for dinner. The waiter was fun and attentive, even though he missed the vegetarian request.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For those in Houston that are looking for a truly amazing experience or those visiting our fantastic city for work or fun, I highly recommend Hollister Grill. Like other reviewers, we heard about this place only by word of mouth but have been back multiple times. Although the menu can be viewed online, the real secret is their specials. The resturant is BYOB so you can also bring in your favorite bottle of wine with the meal. One tip is that you must get a reservation as the resturant fills up on Friday or Saturday night. Chuck and his staff do an amzing job and we can't wait to return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ohhh, I’ll Be Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited mid-week, place filled gradually. Food and service were excellent. Handled non-standard orders without missing a beat. Jalapeño soup was outstanding, just a tad of heat in the back of the throat. Loved the fried green tomatoes. Pricing is moderate for quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollister Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hollister Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollister Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.