We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas River Oaks

Americas River Oaks
2040 West Gray, Suite 200, Houston, TX 77019
832-200-1492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Americas River Oaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shepherd
Transit: Metro Bus available
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Took an out of town guest to Americas for a business dinner with colleagues. The service, food and overall experience was wonderful and made a great impression on our guest. We had a variety of starters and mains: famous churrassco steak, mixed grill, fish of the day and a chicken dish. All of them were excellent. Our waiter was friendly, helpful, and on target with timing for us.

The Cordua family creates unique food that is simply not found at any other restaurant in Houston. We loved it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    23
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed with Restaurant Week at Americas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We dine at Americas regularly. We love the food and the service each time we go. Our daughter wanted to go there for restaurant week and we were very disappointed. We were put in the very back room. No ambiance at all. Just two flat screen TVs on the walls. Thank goodness they weren't turned on. The room was also very hot. The service was very poor. We never got a wine menu. When I asked the waiter about the wine, he simply pointed to the wine pairings on the restaurant week menu. He never offered to bring me a wine list. We have never had that happen in a restaurant. I saw a different waiter do the same thing to another table, and they ended up not ordering anything because of it. I ordered a glass of wine, but the waiter never asked if I wanted another one when I finished my first. In fact our waiter was almost nonexistent. He asked us what we wanted to drink, asked us what we wanted to eat. Never made any suggestions or explained the menu. The bus boy took better care of us then our waiter. I don't think we'll be coming back to Americas for Restaurant week again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Simply PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Made reservations 3 days in advance celebrating Houston Restaurant Week. Got there early, had drinks at the bar and dinner was on time. Waitstaff was superb and every entree we had was DELICIOUS! Mojitos were as good as we had them in Puerto Rico. We could not have asked for a more PERFECT dinner. Ambiance & decor were spot on! We will definitely be back for more and soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting decor / great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

You'll find lots to discuss with your dinner date as you both look around this restaurant. Very interesting decorations all around you! The food is very good, we enjoyed everything we tried.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are in the mood to feel special, dine at the Americas restaurant. The ambianceis exquisite. The waitestaff wonderful. And the food is where fantasy meets reality. Your mouth will water at the aroma of happiness approaches your table. The chicken melts in your mouth. It is so tender you don't need teeth. The rice was divine. The vegetables were crisp and delicious. And there are no words to describe the chocolate mousse. Mmmmm. You deserve the best. Treat yourself to Americas.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americas River Oaks also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Americas River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas River Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.