We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Houston Memorial City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Houston Memorial City to your Saves list
The Westin Houston Memorial City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Gessner Road, Houston, TX 77024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #86 of 470 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Excellent location of this hotel, it has a mall which you can walk through a walkway too; together with a local drop of van to various places in the area.
The conferencing/meeting facilities are excellent, along with the staff whom were on hand all the time and dealt with queries in amazing timing.
If you book a clubroom you can get access to the club lounge which is certainly worth it.
There is a open air pool on the top floor and jacuzzi which were great and the views too, were excellent
I will most certainly be booking this hotel again for a future business event for sure

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fourpointsgm, General Manager at The Westin Houston Memorial City, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Greetings; thanks for sharing your comments, the Club Lounge and the Club Floor guestrooms are very popular, we charge a $30.00 premium for these rooms which included private access to the Club Lounge which features complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary afternoon snacks and beverages, complimentary evening snacks and beverages. The Club Lounge is exclusive to our Club Floor guests and special card key access is required to the floor and the lounge. We also provide access to the Club Lounge if you book one of our suites. I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    111
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
37
40
10
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at the hotel 2 nights for buisness in January 2012. The hotel is new and looks very nice. They have new card readers in the elevators which seemed to confuse some people. They prevent non-hotel guest from getting to guest floors, it was an appreciated security feature. The food was excellent during the course. The hotel is connected to the mall which is a nice feature and very convienent to grad something to eat or pick up something you forgot at Target.

The only negatives were that my room faced the free-way which was very noisey. I also had a view into the hospital rooms next door. When I checked out the front desk said they were calling for a ride, after waiting 25 minutes, I found out they didn't call and I almost missed my flight.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fourpointsgm, General Manager at The Westin Houston Memorial City, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank You for sharing your comments about your recent experience, we get a great deal of positive comments about the hotel and the ease of access into Memorial City Mall via the Skywalk. I was pleased that you appreciated the additional security enhancements that we provide with the card key elevator access. I sincerely do appologize for the mis-step on our part with coordinating your transporation needs back to the airport, we coordinate this service for hundreds of guests each month and had never missed one, I was glad to read that we were still able to get you to the airport for your flight. I hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Westin - Memorial City was a beautiful hotel. Stayed there for a long weekend while traveling for a wedding. The hotel is brand new (about a year old). I was absolutely amazed by our King Suite we had. HUGE corner balcony with expansive view of downtown, huge living room, kitchen, and separate bedroom. It also had 1.5 bathrooms (unexpected). Staff was helpful and nice. There was a neat waterfall in the bar. The pool patio gets a decent amount of sun late morning/early afternoon, but after that it's all shaded - not the best for sunbathers.

I don't agree with having to pay for parking at the hotel since it's in a residential area. I would understand if the hotel was in downtown or a densely populated area, but not when it's out in the "suburb." I hope the hotel rethinks it's $12/night parking fee - should be free for guests - or at least a perk for us SPG members.

Overall - I will return and recommend Westin!

Room Tip: Ask for an east facing room. SPG members - request a higher floor or upgrade to the Club Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fourpointsgm, General Manager at The Westin Houston Memorial City, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Greetings; Thanks for sharing your comments, the suites at the property are gorgeous and we get a lot of great comments about them. They are very popular on the weekends for special occassions, we have over 30 different suites to choose from each with its own distinct floor plan and offerings. I hope we will see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Overall it is a pleasant stay at Westin. Staffs are quiet friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern, new and clean. The club lounge is also really nice with a view. I am very pleased with my stay.
I do notice, if you do the club level rooms, it is on the 17th floor, ask for a room not below the gym!!!! or else you will hear weight dropping on your ceiling!!!
Parking is easy, skybridge over to the mall, it is a good value!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Pros:
*New
*Clean
*Modern
*Quiet
*location was good
*service was average
*provides 2 bottles of complimentary water
*exchange housekeeping service for SPG points (500pts per night that you do not wish for your room to be cleaned)
*Pool was small but very nice

Cons:
*Ridiculous rates for wi-fi!!!! $9.99/day/device. (if i got wifi on my laptop it costs $9.99 and if I wanted wifi on my phone it is ANOTHER $9.99! and executive club rates do not include wifi)
*Expensive (our rate was $209 excl taxes but included access to executive club with has continental buffet and o"dourves which are almost the same everyday)
*does not accept travellers cheques (this is the first hotel that I've been to that does not accept travellers cheques)
*Housekeeping only makes your bed and tidy a few other things
(they do not put your iron board, phones, bathrobes and other things back to its orignal place)
*I got wake up a call at 6:30am when I asked for a wake up call at 7:30 am
*check-in agents are not knowledgeable and took a long time to check-in guests which lead to a line up


Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. We are actually leaving this hotel to try Hotel Sorella at City Centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is new; the room was clean and well-appointed. The special weekend price made it a good deal. The infinity pool on one of the higher levels was very nice, although it wasn't heated, so it was too cold to swim in.

The hotel is in a great location, on the west side of Houston, adjacent to the Hermann Memorial City Hospital and the Memorial City Mall.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
489 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went to the hotel for a quick getaway. The hotel is new. The rooms are nicely appointed and corner rooms have a nice view of downtown Houston and west Houston. Although located n the freeway, there was no traffic noise. The pool and spa are located on the 18th floor and have nice views. The restaurant is very good with great service. The bar looks nice, but the night we went a family with young children was also there. The parents sat around drinking and the children ran all over the bar as if it was their personal playground. Maybe appropriate for a backyard, not for a bar. It is connected to the hospital and mall via indoor walkways. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Choose a club room except on the weekend when the club offers limited service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
#14 of 470 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
4.5 mi away
Omni Houston Hotel Westside
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Houston Citycentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston-At Citycentre-Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Houston Memorial City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Memorial City

Address: 945 Gessner Road, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#55 Business Hotel in Houston
#58 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Memorial City 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westin Houston Memorial City is near CityCentre, Energy Corridor District, and the Westchase District. Our hotel has an infinity pool and 30,000+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Starwood so you can book your The Westin Houston Memorial City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Houston Memorial City Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Houston Memorial City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.