We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay and Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Houston Memorial City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Houston Memorial City to your Saves list
The Westin Houston Memorial City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Gessner Road, Houston, TX 77024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #81 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Houston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Must Stay and Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a beautiful property and still seems new. The work out facilities are excellent and the infinity pool is gorgoues. The staff was great as well. You will get a well rested nights sleep with the Heavenly bed.

We also enjoyed the club lounge which I don't think I have seem before at a Westin.

The location is in the prime area for the Memorial Mall and hospital district at memorial. We ae at Cheesecake factory which is a small walk away.

We will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    21
    4
    8
See reviews for
25
32
6
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed at the new Westin for 2 nights in early December for a business conference and had a really nice time. The hotel is still very new (Opened March 2011) and the staff go out of their way to make sure your experience is memorable. The facility is impressive; about 25 stories tall with speedy elevators. I neglected to check out the penthouse infinity pool and work out room but was told the view was spectacular of West Houston. The rooms are large and comfy, lovely bathroom and glass shower. It was fully equipped with necessities (wifi costs $9.99 a day however). Located in a very busy part of Western Houston directly off the very busy/congested I-10 corridor within the giant Memorial City Hospital Complex (only complain that parking was confusing and a hassle as the hotel entrances were difficult to find and negotiate) and across the equally busy Gessner Road from the large Memorial City Mall. Very pleased that they constructed a pedestrian bridge to and from the Mall as otherwise it would be dangerous and ill advised (Texas drivers don't cater to peds)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Classy, Clean and Courteous. Beautiful facilities with good-sized, well appointed rooms and contemporary furniture and fixtures. We stayed there for a company party. I only have two hiccups to mention. When we had the car valet parked, they told us it would be one price, however, the next morning when we had it retrieved, it was triple that. Secondly, our room had a door into the room next to us. The couple in the room next door talked late into the night and we could hear every word. They were sort of talking loudly, but not out of the ranged of acceptable. So, if you can, get a room with no adjoining room door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburb of Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here one night to test drive the heavenly bed and not only the bed but everything about the stay was just right. Check in was cheerful, efficient and included a brief but thorough orientation, the room was tasteful and fresh, the bathroom and particularly the large shower ith double head was luxurious. And the bed....let's just say we ordered one yesterday to replace our much-hated tempurpedic. The location is very convenient to the huge medical complex and shopping mall, connected by a skyway. This was a very nice stay. Weekend rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was my second stay at this property and it did not disappoint. The location is great for me with access via walkway to the Mall and several restaurants.
The rooms are clean and modernish in a Westin kind of way.
I have a pet peeve with all Westin's I hate the soap, other than that hard to find fault with the toiletries.
I did have one not so good experience; after being out for the day I cam back to find my room door adjar. When the room had been cleaned the door did not click shut, thus my possessions were unprotected for the day. Fortunately nothing was stolen but it could have been disastrous. (my computer was in the room)
There is also an unpleasant odour in the lobby, something that I have noticed on both occassions when I have been there.
Having said that the staff are great, very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 03 are a little bigger than the regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Westin Memorial City opened in the spring 2011, a midrise hotel with garage parking at I-10 and Gessner at Memorial City, the hospital campus/retail area. I stayed on business for two nights and was upgraded to a corner suite which provided a private bedroom with windows on 2 sides, the size of most hotel rooms; a Vegas-sized 12x12 bathroom with separate shower and non-jacuzzi :( tub, and sitting area with separate TV, sofa, table, bar and bathroom. Very roomy. Check-in was very professional and friendly.

This is a property worthy of the best reputation Westin stands for. Nicely appointed, beautifully-finished, businesslike, with a very smart and professional staff.

Dinner both nights were from the on-site restaurant, Trattoria Il Mulino. Very good entrees, and my selections were non-traditional, did not disappoint, and were reasonably-priced.

I did not rate the hotel as an excellent 'value' since it's well over $200/night so they're not giving it away. But it's fairly priced.

Let's talk about the road noise. There are 15 lanes of Interstate, 7 lanes of eastbound access road, and 11 lanes of Gessner Rd. including an underpass echo-chamber impacting this property. That corner-suite upgrade put me on the corner that put me front and center to ALL of those lanes and the drone of road noise all day and all night was much louder than I would have liked.

Room Tip: Ask for "City" view which should only subject you to Gessner Rd. noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Excellent new property, stayed there approximately 20 days this year on business. Top notch. Great addition to the Starwood family.
- squeaky clean rooms
- huge bathrooms and spa showers, luxurious materials
- great staff
- great gym
- fancy rooftop outdoor pool; while haven't had the chance to try it, provided for great scenery while stretching after my workout

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Houston Memorial City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Houston Memorial City

Address: 945 Gessner Road, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#39 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Houston Memorial City 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westin Houston Memorial City is near CityCentre, Energy Corridor District, and the Westchase District. Our hotel has an infinity pool and 30,000+ sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Houston Memorial City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Houston Memorial City Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Houston Memorial City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.