We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place very near downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast
Save
You added La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast to your Saves list
2800 Brazos St., Houston, TX 77006 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Houston B&B and Inns
Canyon Lake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place very near downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice new B&B. Good food, great accommodations. Close to DT, museums, etc, Wonder people own/run this B&B. I'll stay there next time I'm in Houston. Free parking. Why would you stay at some chain hotel? This is like staying at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was in Houston for a conference in July of 2013. Stayed at La Maison at the recommendation of a friends and it was fantastic. The owners were extremely hospitable and made me feel welcome. The rooms are fantastic. Like walking into a SPA/Retreat. The owners called me a few days before arrival to ask if I had any specific food requests for breakfast. (That has never happened to me before and I travel a lot). Breakfast was delicious and every afternoon the owners Sharon and Genora put out "Afternoon Tea"! Wine, Cheese, crackers fruit, etc. I found myself wanting my afternoon meetings to end so I could get back and connect with the other guests. Great experience and highly recommend saying at La Maison in Midtown!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room in the entire place. It was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We always stay at B&B's and Houston doesn't have a large selection especially near downtown. Found this to be a great choice, we loved the location, close to the museum district, easy to get to the lower Westheimer area for tons of restaurant options and in a decent part of town. On site parking is nice. The facility is newer, very clean and well appointed. Three stories with elevator, no problem with luggage. Great breakfast the next morning. We look forward to returning for a Texans game, the train is about four blocks away that can take you right to the stadium and back.

Room Tip: Room 302 is a good value, smaller with a queen bed but great for one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

La Maison was built in 2009 by 2 ladies - Sharon and Genora - who spent 5 years learning about the B&B business, visiting B&B's and taking courses. The design and layout is outstanding. My wife and I stayed there for our anniversary and felt like we were in a friend's home. The B&B is very tastefully decorated and is designed with each guest's comfort in mind. Our room was very comfortable ... outside our second floor room was a large, wrap-around balcony. Breakfast was excellent. Parking is free and onsite. Downtown Houston, the Museum District, the Theater District are all within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

la Maison was our first stay at a B&B and we loved it. We weren't sure what to expect and we tend to be abit private. We were greeted at arrival and shown our rooms in a professional and friendly manner. We were also able to collect some insider knowledge of Houston including the best nearby restaurants. My dietary restrictions were noted and the breakfasts prepared were first rate. We were there for a couple days and never noticed any construction noise. I also loved the style throughout the building... My Mom loves Victorian but i appreciate a modern design so La Maison was perfect. In fact, there was several pieces that I'd like for my home! On the final day, the owner Sharon gave us some tickets to the Pablo Picasso exhibit ... Which was such a kind offer. We loved both Houston and La Maison and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We regularly stay in B&B's across the country. This one is in a fairly new facility and as such has modern facilities, although it does lack the charm of older houses. The hosts were excellent. The house has a wraparound porch/balcony - nice touch, however it overlooks an apartment building under construction directly across the street. Not much of a view. Bedside lighting in our room consisted of one lamp mounted on the wall. It was OK for one side of the bed, but the other was dark. Our breakfast was ordinary when compared to other B&B's.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traveled to Houston in January to see an exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts. We were so lucky to have found this wonderful B&B. Access from the highway and to the museum were easy. Parking behind the B&B was free. We could walk to lots of excellent restaurants (as well as to a drug store which was unfortunately necessary during our stay). The room was scrupulously clean, comfortable, quiet, and had everything we could want, including a terrific bed and a charming balcony. The common rooms on the first floor were welcoming and elegant. Breakfast was delicious and ample. Happy hour in the afternoon had tasty snacks and good wine. Best of all are the people. We loved talking with Sergio, the breakfast cook who is also a professional musician. Sharon was amazingly helpful and both interesting & interested. Tommi always seemed to be around if we needed anything. I have some dietary restrictions but never felt deprived because of the effort made to make sure I had good things to eat within my limitations. We would go back again just to stay at La Maison.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast

Address: 2800 Brazos St., Houston, TX 77006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the city...escape to La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast and a slice of European flavor in the heart of Houston, Texas. Enjoy your choice of seven luxurious guest rooms and convenient access to Houston's finest restaurants, Downtown, the Theatre District, Museums, the Texas Medical Center, colleges and universities, and professional sporting and entertainment venues. Whether traveling for business or leisure, discover this wonderful treasure in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison in Midtown, an urban bed and breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.