We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #12 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Natchitoches, United States
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites Downtown Houston and had a wonderful stay. The staff was helpful and the hotel was great and conveniently located to many of the things that we wanted to do while in Houston. I would definately reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in downtown Houston and looking for a good place to stay with their family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    137
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
160
88
10
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I loved the hotel, the service and people were awesome but the parking was over priced. $20-$30 dollars per night, that adds up! The Holiday inn down the street had free breakfast and free parking, we had friends that stayed there and it was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I was in Houston for my friend's wedding in July. My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel because it was about 1 mile away from the reception venue and it has great reviews. If I visit Houston again, I will not stay here for the following reasons.

1. On my first evening being there, things already went wrong. After checking in, we dropped off our luggage in the room and immediately went down to the dinning for their complimentry drinks and snacks. We proceeded on getting our snacks but couldn't figure out where people got their cocktails. There were no signage. Apparently, the bar was hidden on the other side of the dinning room. After figuring that out, we stood in line for a good 10 minutes. Came our turn, the bartender refused to serve us because it was 7:30pm which was the cut off time. I couldn't believe it. They should've let me know before I stood in line. Technically, we were there before the cut off time. It wasn't my fault that they only had one person attending bar for a large crowd. Also, there were only 2 other people behind me. If she wanted to, she could have served us. That was just poor customer service.

To think this hotel is part of the Hilton group...

2. After finishing our snack, we went back to our room to rest. To our amazed, we found spots of bloods on the bed sheets when we pulled off the comforter. I immediately called the front desk for room service. We waited for 30 minutes and no one showed up. At this time, I was tired and sleepy from the early flight. So I called the front desked again and 10 minutes later 2 maids came. I showed them the blood stain and they had the audacity to ask me if the sheet was cleaned. I was appalled at their question. Obviously, they did not change the sheet before I checked in.

3. High parking fee. I thought this was a rip off for being in Texas where land is not an issued. I understand if this was DC.

4. This last one is more of me rather than the hotel's fault. Since we frequent places along Bellaire Rd, we rather find another hotel in the area instead of driving 30-40 minutes 1 way everyday and would hit traffic depending on the time of day.

If it weren't for these issues, it can be a really nice hotel. But I still question their cleaniest because it was apparent that they don't alway change the bedsheets between customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold river
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Front desk staff excellent, suites very clean and comfortable. Parking for $30.00 per night, plus tax, plus gratuity was the only drawback. parking lot next door charges $5:50 per day 4am-6.00 pm. At 6:00 pm, all street parking is free, until 7am the next morning The Hilton next door charges $20.00 per day, Hayat $15.00 per day self parking. If they drop it a bit down, they would double their business.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League city, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Once again embassy suites stood up to their brand, awesome hotel chain, very clean and spacious rooms, the managers reception is like no other. The morning breakfast is like wow cooked to order breakfast as well. Oh yeah they do recognize and honor the veterans as well as active duty military, would not stay any where else, if there is not embassy suites I will not travel there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I would absolutely return. Check in went smoothly, all employees were very friendly during my visit. Hotel appears relatively new and everything is very clean, nothing worn down. Rooms are a great size, with the standard two room set up for an Embassy Suites room, King bed in one room, small living area in the other room with a fold out. Bathroom was a nice size. Could use a little more counter or shelf space. However, there is a counter with a bar type sink in the living area inclusive of a small fridge and microwave. Nice size table in that room too. Room was very quite with a heavy door. Two flat screen TVs, the one in the living area was probably a 42" and the one in the bedroom a little smaller. Large selection of channels and good pictures, but not a good working guide for channel and show selection. Bed was very comfortable, as were the selection of pillows. Buffet breakfast comes with the room and it pretty much has anything you need: cereals, pastries, area to be served eggs, bacon, etc., and an area that they will cook what you want. I tried the restaurant one evening and wasn't impressed with the meal. Good location and felt safe walking even in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I love this hotel! The staff is very helpful and the hotel is gorgeous, with spacious rooms. I just started a new workout program, and the gym was equipped with more than I needed. The location is a little further from my office than other hotels, but I will stay here from now on, because it's a cut above the other places I've stayed in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#6 Family Hotel in Houston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.