We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great location and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was very impressed with the room and amenities at this hotel. The suite was as large as my first apartment! The decor is fresh, and the couch with attached chaise lounge was very comfy. My roommate was impressed with the fold-out bed, too. Breakfast was included, and it was really good. I have never seen a free breakfast with that many hot and cold options. The free happy hour was a great bonus, too. The staff was super friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    138
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
167
89
11
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I've spent a fair amount of time staying in various hotels in downtown Houston over the years, but this was my first stay at the Embassy Suites. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are new and well furnished and the suite design is thoughtful (the bedroom door can be closed allowing one person to sleep and the other to be in the lounge area with access to the bathroom; this dual access would be good for families sharing a suite). The internet is free and speeds seem good (a common problem at this type of hotel it seems). There was a problem logging in to the internet a couple of times, but this was fixed by the hotel staff fairly quickly. The gym has some good equipment but is quite small so can get a bit busy at peak times. The breakfast is really good - great choice of hot and cold food and a nice location to eat. Did have a couple of problems with the guest laundry as there are only 2 washers and dryers, and one of the dryers always seemed to be broken. The staff did fix a broken dryer and dry some laundry in the hotel dryers when both the guest ones were broken, which was good. However it would be nice if there were more machines for a hotel this size, and they were all working. But overall this is a great hotel and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for 3 nights while attending the Ace Hardware show. What a delightful place to stay. Modern without being cold. I couldn't wait to see my suite behind the glossy mustard door! From the mustard sectional in the living area to roomy and comfortable bedroom and bath - nothing disappointed. Every associate I had contact with was unfailingly gracious and helpful. The breakfast buffet was scrumptious. The location was perfect for us as it was near the convention center and plenty of restaurants. If we ever return to Houston, this will be our choice to stay.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've stayed all over and this is by far the nicest Embassy Suites I've stayed in and ranks right along side all the 4 Diamond suites I've enjoyed. The rooms are incredible and the service is second to none.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The suites are clean and spacious. The morning breakfast are a nice touch to start your day. The only drawback is the water pressure is on the light side. Nice place to stay for business purposes. Easy access to the convention center via the park.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I travel every week and stay in Hilton exclusively. This Embassy was by far the newest and nicest one I have ever stayed in. I opted for a corner suite and loved the views from the 18th floor. The only option for parking here is Valet which is $30 a night. The Valet crew were great and had my car pulled around every time I called down ahead of time. Breakfast was fantastic with a large area and was already clean. If I have to come back to Houston, I will be staying here!

Room Tip: Corner suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The amenities and cleanliness of the hotel are great. Keep in mind that if you don't utilize parking around the hotel, you have to use their valet parking service. While it's great and convenient, another option would have been nice. If you plan on staying around the area, don't leave your car at the the hotel any longer than 2pm or else you'll be charged. Otherwise, my stay was great. The room was spacious, clean and wonderful as well as a great complimentary breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#4 Business Hotel in Houston
#5 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.