We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest Embassy Suites I've found in Texas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 457 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Embassy Suites I've found in Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel downtown!
One of the newest additions to downtown Houston, this particular Embassy Suites is one of the nicest I've stayed at, and I've stayed at many around the U.S.

We stayed here on a Saturday night because we were seeing a show at the Toyota Center. Not only did they give us a good rate, they had a Cadillac Escalade shuttle to take us to the Toyota Center. Really made the night that much more romantic.

They also have an outside heated pool and hot tub on the 3rd floor.

Rooms weren't too huge but they were quite comfy. It was quiet and we slept very well.

Breakfast wasn't really good, hence the 4 stars instead of 5.

I would reccomend this as one of the top hotels for business travelers in downtown Houston. Hilton usually does a good job and this particular property speaks to that reputation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    124
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
151
77
10
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were in Houston for the National Clay Conference. We were within easy walking distance to the Conference Center. The Hotel overall was Great. The made to order breakfast was perfect. The evening happy hours and snacks were very good. Could not have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was in Houston for a 30-hour visit. I needed a restful place to stay downtown. Embassy Suites was perfect. Responsive, courteous staff. Valet parking was prompt when I requested my car. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast was quick and very good. Result: rested traveler ready for the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a Rockets game since it is a block away from the Toyota Center. Location is great since it is within walking distance to the convention center, Minute Maid Park, and across the street from Discovery Green. Modern decor throughout is great making it feel like a boutique hotel. Lots of room with two comfy queen beds, wet bar with fridge, and living room with table and pull out couch. Value is amazing with free buffet breakfast that had everything you would want from cooked to order pancakes and omelettes to oatmeal and fresh fruit. Free happy hour with open bar, egg rolls, cheese, crackers, etc. plus free in-room wifi (strong), all terrific.

Please note that the nearby shopping is closed on Sundays, but we found the Grove restaurant overlooking Discovery Green serving a lovely brunch. Guadalajara behind the House of Blues was good for dinner and seemed to be open most times. As a previous reviewer wrote, downtown seems quiet no matter what day it is. Similar to other downtowns in a warmer climate, a few homeless wandering around the area.

Guests for Saturday night were some families and younger people dressed for a night out. Concerned about impending noise but was relieved when there wasn't any. Mainly business travelers during the week (glad to be at happy hour from what I can see).

Suggestions include adding at least two towel bars to the bathrooms. Right now there is only one hook and you cannot air towels after use for them to be reused in support of the green concept encouraged by the hotel. I ended up draping towels over the little drawers that were in the vanity and the shower rod to air them out. Sliding bathroom door would not close all the way and had to use towel to keep it shut. Not great for privacy. Housekeeping seems to come late in the day even after I called to request service (and I leave tips), so it would be good to help them prioritize the rooms for cleaning. Elevators had a musky, wet dog smell at times (the pool? but not sure). Probably should investigate the source.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a great trip and staying at the hotel was nice- cute decor and nice people- who could ask for more. The Super Shuttle picked me up and dropped me off, eliminating the rental car hassle! Love Houston, so clean and GREEN!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Downtown Houston is pretty lame but this hotel was great if you at the George Brown Convention center. It is a block away and you walk through a lovely park to get there. The hotel is clean and super cute the way it is decorated. Kind of a modern theme with some country accents here and there like the white bathroom furniture and oddly shaped mirror. I will definitely stay again when I go to Houston for a convention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really fun decor, beautiful large modern rooms. Very clean. Breakfast was outstanding and the muffins may be the best muffins I have ever had. And they offer Diet Coke in to-go cups! (every other Embassy Suites uses cocktail glasses). Also, the breakfast stations were spread out so you were never waiting for people in front of you, even though they had a large crowd. Lots of seating also. Very comfortable. Front desk staff was terrific, polite and efficient. The only thing not great is that pulling up to the hotel, there is no room at all, you just stop on the street. But, I have to give credit to the Valet guys as they were fast and friendly and seemed to enjoy the challenge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Discovery Green Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.